Watch: All the nine-dart finishes in World Championship history, including MVG, Raymond van Barneveld and Gary Anderson

Gary Anderson hit a nine-dart finish back in the 2016 World Championship

Watch all the previous nine-dart finishes in World Darts Championship history as this year's hopefuls bid to hit the 10th at Alexandra Palace.

It's amazing to think the first 15 editions of the PDC World Darts Championship went by without a single nine-dart finish being thrown.

Dutch legend Raymond van Barneveld finally ended the drought in the 2009 World Championship - almost 19 years after Paul Lim's historic effort in 1990 - and then threw the tournament's second 12 months later.

There's been seven more since then but none by the now retired Phil Taylor, who missed double 12 to do it in his last ever match during the 2018 final.

Here, we've compiled clips of all 10 perfect legs in World Darts Championship history while we've also thrown in the near misses from Taylor and Lim last year for good measure!

Paul Lim v Jack McKenna - 1990 (2nd round win v Jack McKenna)

A moment that will remain etched in the annals of darting history forever, Paul Lim landed only the second televised nine-darter ever (the first of which was John Lowe six years earlier) in the second round of the BDO World Championship. It also earned the Singapore favourite a cool £52,000 - a prize only bettered by Lowe's £102k in 1984 and Phil Taylor's £100k in the 2002 World Matchplay.

Raymond van Barneveld - 2009 (QF win v Jelle Klaasen)

Not since Paul Lim's nine-darter at the 1990 BDO World Championship had a perfect leg been seen at the highest of levels, but van Barneveld ended the 19-year wait by hitting the first in the PDC's version.

Raymond van Barneveld - 2010 (2nd Rd win v Brendan Dolan)

The five-time world champion incredibly managed the feat 12 months later to send his fans wild in a clash against Brendan Dolan.

Adrian Lewis - 2011 (Final win v Gary Anderson)

Adrian Lewis remains the only man to have thrown a nine-darter in a World Championship final and he ensured he made it count by going on to beat Gary Anderson 7-5 in an absolute classic.

Dean Winstanley - 2013 (2nd Rd loss v Vincent van der Voort)

The unheralded Dean Winstanley was well out of form during a match he went on to lose but out of nowhere the Rotherham thrower strung together a perfect leg before celebrating in style!

Michael van Gerwen - 2013 (SF win v James Wade)

Surprisingly this is still Michael van Gerwen's only World Championship nine-darter even though he so nearly bagged his second in the following leg...

Terry Jenkins - 2014 (1st Rd loss v Per Laursen)

One of the game's most talented and popular players never to have won a world title produced the first of two nine-darters to be thrown at the 2014 World Championship, albeit it came in defeat...

Kyle Anderson - 2014 (1st Rd loss v Ian White)

Kyle Anderson was the second - and he lost as well!

Adrian Lewis - 2015 (3rd Rd loss v Raymond van Barneveld)

Jackpot joined Raymond van Barneveld as the second man to throw two World Championship nine-darters but the Dutchman promptly got his revenge by defeating him.

Gary Anderson - 2016 (SF win v Jelle Klaasen)

The Flying Scotsman produced one of the most dominant performances ever seen at a World Championship during this 6-0 victory, and a nine-darter was the icing on the cake. He went on to win the title by defeating Adrian Lewis.

Paul Lim (almost) - 2018 (Second round loss vs Gary Anderson)

To say the roof would have been lifted off the Alexandra Palace roof had this double 12 landed, is a metaphorical understatement!

Phil Taylor (almost) - 2018 (Final loss vs Rob Cross)

Phil Taylor has achieved the nine-dart finish more than any other darts player on TV with 11 but he never managed it on the world championship stage. However, he came mightily close in his last ever competitive match...

Nine-dart finish betting

Such is the standard of today's players, Sky Bet make it 8/11 that a nine-darter is thrown at Alexandra Palace this year while you can get a special price of 7/2 that two or more are achieved - something that has happened before in 2014 thanks to Terry Jenkins and Kyle Anderson.

Related Darts Content

Like what you've read?
Help your friends Know It All by sharing this article to your social media.

Most Read