Scroll down to watch Ding Junhui's sensational escape
Scroll down to watch Ding Junhui's sensational escape

Snooker results: Ronnie O'Sullivan knocked out of Six Reds World Championship by Ding Junhui

Ronnie O'Sullivan's hopes of winning the Six Reds World Championship on debut were ended by Ding Junhui in the last 16.

The Rocket had impressively topped his group in this invitational tournament, which was first staged in 2008 and last held in 2019, with three wins against James Wattana, Stan Moody and Jimmy Robertson over the past two days of action in Thailand to book his place in the knockout stages.

He subsequently came up against his old friend Ding, who won this tournament back in 2016 and also finished runner-up in 2018, but was unable to get revenge for the 6-0 thrashing he suffered at the UK Championship back in November.

The first four frames of the contest were shared only for Ding to race away to a 6-2 victory - with the help of this fine escape in the seventh.

Ding went on to beat Stuart Bingham 6-2 later on Thursday to remain firmly on course for a repeat win in the event. His semi-final opponent is Tom Ford, who got the better of John Higgins in a deciding frame to win 6-5.

Thepchaiyah Un-Nooh, who beat Zhang Anda 6-2, will face Hossein Vafaei in the other semi-final.

Vafaei looked poised to exit when he trailed 5-4 to Judd Trump, who was at the table with just one more pot required to seal his place in the last four and rubber-stamp his status as favourite.

Trump though missed brown of its spot and lost the frame, before a nerveless half-century saw Vafaei clinch the decider in a 6-5 stunner.

Six Reds Tournament Format & Results So Far

  • The first round consists of eight groups of four players, and runs from March 6-8.
  • Each group match is best of 11 frames, with the winner receiving one point and the loser none.
  • The top two players in each group will advance to the knockout stage. If players are level on points, frame difference comes into play.
  • The last 16 and quarter-finals are both best of 11 frames and take place on March 9.
  • The semi-final will be the best of 13 frames and take place on Friday March 10. The final will be the best of 15 frames on Saturday March 11.

Six Reds Group A

  • Ding Junhui 5โ€“2 Stephen Maguire
  • Zhang Anda 5โ€“2 Mink Nutcharut
  • Zhang Anda 5โ€“2 Stephen Maguire
  • Ding Junhui 5โ€“2 Mink Nutcharut
  • Zhang Anda 5โ€“0 Ding Junhui
  • Stephen Maguire 5โ€“0 Mink Nutcharut

Zhang Anda (1st) and Ding Junhui (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group B

  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 5โ€“0 Jimmy White
  • Tom Ford 5โ€“1 Zhou Yuelong
  • Zhou Yuelong 5โ€“1 Jimmy White
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 5โ€“3 Tom Ford
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 5โ€“2 Zhou Yuelong
  • Jimmy White 5-3 Tom Ford

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh (1st) and Tom Ford (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group C

  • John Higgins 5โ€“2 Ken Doherty
  • Hossein Vafaei 5โ€“2 Poramin Danjirakul
  • Hossein Vafaei 5โ€“1 John Higgins
  • Pormin Danjirakul 5โ€“3 Ken Doherty
  • John Higgins 5โ€“0 Poramin Danjirakul
  • Hossein Vafaei 5โ€“1 Ken Doherty

Hossein Vafaei (1st) and John Higgins (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group D

  • Judd Trump 5โ€“0 Ricky Walden
  • Ma Hai Long 5โ€“3 Kritsanut Lertsattayathorn
  • Judd Trump 5โ€“4 Kritsanut Lertsattayathorn
  • Ricky Walden 5โ€“1 Ma Hailong
  • Judd Trump 5โ€“4 Ma Hailong
  • Ricky Walden 5โ€“4 Kritsanut Lertsattayathorn

Judd Trump (1st) and Ricky Walden (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group E

  • Robert Milkins 5โ€“2 Matthew Selt
  • Chris Wakelin 5โ€“4 Dechawat Poomjaeng
  • Chris Wakelin 5โ€“4 Matthew Selt
  • Dechawat Poomjaeng 5โ€“0 Robert Milkins
  • Chris Wakelin 5โ€“3 Robert Milkins
  • Matthew Selt 5-3 Dechawat Poomjaeng

Chris Wakelin (1st) and Dechawat Poomjaeng (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group F

  • Joe Perry 5โ€“1 Mark Williams
  • Andres Petrov 5โ€“3 Sunny Akani
  • Mark Williams 5-4 Sunny Akani
  • Joe Perry 5-3 Andres Petrov
  • Mark Williams 5-2 Andres Petrov
  • Joe Perry 5-3 Sunny Akani

Joe Perry (1st) and Mark Williams (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group G

  • Noppon Saengkham 5โ€“4 Jordan Brown
  • Stuart Bingham 5โ€“1 Mahoud El Hareedy
  • Stuart Bingham 5โ€“2 Jordan Brown
  • Noppon Saengkham 5โ€“1 Mahoud El Hareedy
  • Jordan Brown 5โ€“2 Mahoud El Hareedy
  • Stuart Bingham 5โ€“2 Noppon Saengkham

Stuart Bingham (1st) and Noppon Saengkham (2nd) progress

Six Reds Group H

  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 5โ€“3 Jimmy Robertson
  • James Wattana 5โ€“1 Stan Moody
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 5โ€“2 Stan Moody
  • James Wattana 5โ€“4 Jimmy Robertson
  • Jimmy Robertson 5-2 Stan Moody
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 5โ€“2 James Wattana

Ronnie O'Sullivan (1st) and James Wattana (2nd) progress

Knockout Stages

In draw bracket order

Last 16 (March 9)

  • Zhang Anda 6-4 James Wattana
  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 6-2 Dechawat Poomjaeng
  • Hossein Vafaei 6-3 Noppon Saengkham
  • Judd Trump 6-3 Mark Williams
  • Chris Wakelin 3-6 Tom Ford
  • Joe Perry 2-6 John Higgins
  • Stuart Bingham 6-0 Ricky Walden
  • Ronnie O'Sullivan 2-6 Ding Junhui

Quarter-Finals (March 9)

  • Zhang Anda 2-6 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
  • Hossein Vafaei 6-5 Judd Trump
  • Tom Ford 6-5 John Higgins
  • Stuart Bingham 2-6 Ding Junhui

Semi-Finals (March 10)

  • Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Hossein Vafaei
  • Tom Ford v Ding Junhui

Final (March 11)

  • Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2

Like what you've read?


Sporting Life
Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content

Next Off

Fixtures & Results

Fetching latest games....