Ted Evetts wins two events on the opening weekend of the PDC Development Tour

Ted Evetts

A review of the opening weekend's action on the PDC Development Tour as Ted Evetts won two of the four events.

Sunday's review: Events 3 and 4

Ted Evetts completed a weekend double on the PDC Unicorn Development Tour as he shared Sunday's two event wins with Ryan Meikle in Wigan.

Evetts had begun the 2019 Development Tour season with success in Event One on Saturday, and claimed a further £2,000 in prize money by winning Event Four on Sunday evening.

The emerging ace from Warwickshire proved too strong for Andrew Davidson by dropping just one leg, as he did in his semi-final win over Keane Barry and a quarter-final triumph against Ben Cheeseman.

Evetts also defeated two other former Development Tour event winners, George Killington and Ryan Meikle, on his way to a fifth title at this level.

Belgian youngster Brian Raman, who made his UK Open debut last week, landed a nine-dart finish in the opening leg of his last 16 tie with Davidson - only to lose the contest 4-1.

Davidson overcame another UK Open qualifier, Callan Rydz, in the semi-finals and averaged 103 in his quarter-final whitewash of Jack Main during an impressive run.

Event Three had seen Meikle claim his third Development Tour title as he defeated Greg Ritchie 5-2 in the final.

Meikle also overcame Dutch prospects Jeffrey de Zwaan and Geert Nentjes in the latter stages.

Ritchie overcame Canadian ace Dawson Murschell and former World Championship qualifier Sven Groen on his way to a first Development Tour final to begin his fourth season at this level.

Following the first of five double-header weekends to be held this year, Evetts tops the Development Tour Order of Merit with £4,150, ahead of Event Two winner Nathan Rafferty (£3,100) and Meikle (£2,250).

The field in Wigan also saw Danish youngsters Daniel Jensen and Nicolai Rasmussen joined by four Swedish debutants, Oskar Vagberg, Hampus Norrstrom, Viktor Tingstrom and Anton Resell.

In total 139 players achieved prize money across the opening weekend of the year, with the Development Tour set to return to action on April 20-21 in Wigan.

At the conclusion of the series of 20 tournaments across 2019, the top two players on the Unicorn Development Tour Order of Merit will earn a place at Alexandra Palace for the 2019/20 William Hill World Championship.

The Development Tour season concludes with the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship, with qualifiers from the Development Tour Order of Merit joined by international qualifiers in competing in that event.

Event Three Results (Last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Justin van Tergouw 4-1 Kevin Doets
Ciaran Teehan 4-3 Andy Kent
Keane Barry 4-1 Jurjen van der Velde
Greg Ritchie 4-0 Dawson Murschell
William Borland 4-2 Joshua Richardson
Geert Nentjes 4-0 Jack Main
Ryan Meikle 4-2 Zak Cross
Jeffrey de Zwaan 4-2 Marvin van Velzen

Ciaran Teehan 5-1 Justin van Tergouw
Greg Ritchie 5-2 Keane Barry
Geert Nentjes 5-3 William Borland
Ryan Meikle 5-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Greg Ritchie 5-3 Ciaran Teehan
Ryan Meikle 5-3 Geert Nentjes

Ryan Meikle 5-2 Greg Ritchie

Event Four Results (last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Jack Main 4-0 Keelan Kay
Andrew Davidson 4-1 Brian Raman
Callan Rydz 4-1 Andy Kent
Patrick van den Boogaard 4-1 Danny Van Trijp
Ben Cheeseman 4-1 Tom Lonsdale
Ted Evetts 4-3 Ryan Meikle
Keane Barry 4-1 Jarred Cole
William Borland 4-3 Matthew Holbrook

Andrew Davidson 5-0 Jack Main
Callan Rydz 5-3 Patrick van den Boogaard
Ted Evetts 5-1 Ben Cheeseman
Keane Barry 5-1 William Borland

Andrew Davidson 5-4 Callan Rydz
Ted Evetts 5-1 Keane Barry

Ted Evetts 5-1 Andrew Davidson

Saturday review: Events 1 and 2

Ted Evetts and Nathan Rafferty claimed the first two Unicorn Development Tour titles of 2019 on Saturday in Wigan.

The Robin Park Tennis Centre played host to the year's opening two tournaments for players aged 16-23, with Evetts and Raffert claiming their fifth and second Development Tour titles respectively.

Evetts picked up his fifth Development Tour title in the opening event of 2019 with a 5-0 win over Northern Ireland's Rafferty in the final.

The 21-year-old’s success on the 2018 Development Tour saw him qualify for the 2018/19 World Championship and regain his place on the ProTour, and Evetts wasted no time in replicating that success.

Evetts won his opening three matches of the day without the concession of a leg, before edging past Ciaran Teehan 4-3 to reach the last 16 where he saw off fellow Tour Card Holder Bradley Brooks 4-2.

A convincing 5-1 victory over Benjamin Smith in the quarter-finals was followed by a 5-2 success over Dutch youngster Geert Nentjes, before Evetts produced a stunning 103 average to take the first title of the year.

Rafferty bounced back from disappointment to storm to go all the way in Event Two, defeating Aiden Cope 5-2 in the final game of the day.

Rising star Rafferty, who reached the last 32 of the 2018 UK Open, didn't drop a leg in his opening two matches, before coming through deciding legs against William Borland and Brooks to advance to the quarter-finals.

There, a sensational performance saw Rafferty whitewash World Matchplay semi-finalist Jeffrey de Zwaan 5-0, before seeing off Wessel Nijman 5-3 to reach his second final of the day where he doubled his Development Tour title tally almost a year on from his maiden crown.

Event One results (Last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Jim Moston 4-1 Tommy Lishman
Andrew Davidson 4-3 Lewis Pride
Harry Ward 4-1 Jurjen van der Velde
Nathan Rafferty 4-0 Callum Matthews
Ted Evetts 4-2 Bradley Brooks
Benjamin Smith 4-3 Jarred Cole
Geerty Nentjes 4-3 Berry van Peer
George Killington 4-3 Henk Snijder

Andrew Davidson 5-1 Jim Moston
Nathan Rafferty 5-1 Harry Ward
Ted Evetts 5-1 Benjamin Smith
Geert Nentjes 5-2 George Killington

Nathan Rafferty 5-4 Andrew Davidson
Ted Evetts 5-2 Geert Nentjes

Ted Evetts 5-0 Nathan Rafferty

Event Two Results (Last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Wessel Nijman 4-1 Marvin van Velzen
Callan Rydz 4-1 Thomas Lovely
Jeffrey de Zwaan 4-3 Lewis Pride
Nathan Rafferty 4-3 Bradley Brooks
Aiden Cope 4-1 Rhys Griffin
Luke Humphries 4-1 Matthew Holbrook
Keane Barry 4-3 Ciaran Teehan
Hywel Manuel 4-1 Kevin Doets

Wessel Nijman 5-4 Callan Rydz
Nathan Rafferty 5-0 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Aiden Cope 5-0 Luke Humphries
Keane Barry 5-0 Hywel Manuel

Nathan Rafferty 5-3 Wessel Nijman
Aiden Cope 5-4 Keane Barry

Nathan Rafferty 5-2 Aiden Cope

Related Darts Content

Like what you've read?
Help your friends Know It All by sharing this article to your social media.

Most Read