Darts results: Gerwyn Price beats Devon Peterson to progress to Sunday

Gerwyn Price (Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Gerwyn Price won the battle of the year's two European Tour winners so far as he progressed to the final day of the European Darts Grand Prix alongside Michael van Gerwen and Glen Durrant in Sindelfingen.

Belgian Darts Championship winner Price took on recent German Darts Championship winner Devon Petersen in a rematch of their tie in Hildesheim last month, and took a 6-2 victory on this occasion.

Price pulled clear from 1-1 with the South African, following up a 150 checkout with a 12-darter as he pulled clear to move into the third round at the Glaspalast.

The in-form Welshman will now play Jose De Sousa as he bids to follow up last Monday's BoyleSports World Grand Prix triumph with a fifth title in his last six events.

World number one van Gerwen opened his challenge in Sindelfingen with a dominant 6-1 win over Mervyn King, taking the opening four legs without reply before going on to seal a one-sided victory.

He now plays close friend Vincent van der Voort in the third round, after the former Austrian Darts Open winner ended German hopes in the event with a 6-4 defeat of Max Hopp in Saturday's final tie.

Thursday's Unibet Premier League winner Durrant, meanwhile, came from 3-2 down against German prospect Nico Kurz to win 6-3, and now plays Maik Kuivenhoven after the Dutchman produced an 11-darter to claim the deciding leg of his tie with Daryl Gurney.

Martijn Kleermaker is another Dutchman in the hunt for the title in Sindelfingen after claiming an impressive 6-2 triumph over Poland's Krzysztof Ratajski.

Kleermaker now plays former World Champion Rob Cross, who survived Adam Hunt's fightback from 5-2 down to force a deciding leg before finally prevailing.

Mensur Suljovic landed six 180s and averaged over 105 as he defeated PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour champion David Evans 6-3 to set up a tie with Jamie Hughes, who survived one missed match dart from Steve Lennon in their contest.

Lithuania's Darius Labanauskas punished 15 missed doubles from Dave Chisnall as he claimed a 6-3 win from their tie to move through and face Joe Cullen, who landed a 170 checkout as he defeated Kim Huybrechts by the same margin.

World number four Michael Smith impressed with a 104 average as he whitewashed Derk Telnekes, and the St Helens ace now plays Ian White, who was a 6-2 winner against Scott Waites.

Portugal's De Sousa whitewashed Ricardo Pietreczko 6-0 to book a tie with Price in round three, completing the victory with an unconventional 40 checkout of double 18 and double two!

James Wade averaged 101 to come through a high-quality tie with German ace Gabriel Clemens 6-4, with the left-hander sealing the win with consecutive checkouts of 110 and 116.

Wade now faces Nathan Aspinall, who bounced back from his disappointment in the Premier League final with a 6-1 defeat of William O'Connor.

2020 European Darts Grand Prix: Saturday results and Sunday schedule

Saturday October 17

Second Round

Afternoon Session

  • Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Daryl Gurney
  • Ian White 6-2 Scott Waites
  • Michael Smith 6-0 Derk Telnekes
  • Glen Durrant 6-3 Nico Kurz
  • Jose De Sousa 6-0 Ricardo Pietreczko
  • Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Dave Chisnall
  • Joe Cullen 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
  • Jamie Hughes 6-5 Steve Lennon

Evening Session

  • Martijn Kleermaker 6-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
  • Rob Cross 6-5 Adam Hunt
  • James Wade 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
  • Gerwyn Price 6-2 Devon Petersen
  • Mensur Suljovic 6-3 David Evans
  • Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Mervyn King
  • Nathan Aspinall 6-1 William O'Connor
  • Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Max Hopp

Sunday's schedule

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

  • Maik Kuivenhoven v Glen Durrant
  • Ian White v Michael Smith
  • Darius Labanauskas v Joe Cullen
  • Gerwyn Price v Jose De Sousa
  • Mensur Suljovic v Jamie Hughes
  • Martijn Kleermaker v Rob Cross
  • James Wade v Nathan Aspinall
  • Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

  • Quarter-finals
  • Semi-finals
  • Final

Related Darts Content

Like what you've read?
Help your friends Know It All by sharing this article to your social media.

Most Read