Bryony Frost makes history at Horserace Writers & Photographers Derby Awards

Bryony Frost and Frodon after their Ryanair Chase win

Bryony Frost became the first female rider to lift a Derby Award as she was crowned Jump Jockey of the Year at the annual Horserace Writers & Photographers Derby Awards in London.

Frost claimed a landmark victory on Frodon in the Ryanair Chase at the Cheltenham Festival back in March and her achievements in the saddle were recognised at the ceremony at the Royal Lancaster Hotel.

Frankie Dettori took the equivalent Flat prize while his boss, John Gosden, was named both Flat Trainer of the Year and International Trainer of the Year.

Paul Nicholls was given the Jump Trainer of the Year prize, Owner of the Year went to Andrew Gemmell and Lisa Hancock was awarded the George Ennor Trophy for Outstanding Achievement.

The President's Award went to Ruby Walsh, the 12-time Irish champion jockey and most successful jockey in Cheltenham Festival history who retired in May.

The Peter O'Sullevan Trophy for the Broadcaster of the Year was won for the first time by Racing TV's Lydia Hislop.

Lee Mottershead landed the Racing Writer of the Year award for the second time, Edward Whitaker was named Photographer of the Year for the second year running, and the ninth time in total, and Patrick McCann won the Picture of the Year award for the third time.

The Emerging Talent Award was given to 23-year-old Jonathan Harding, Specialist Writer went to freelance Kevin Blake, and Reporter of the Year went to Marcus Townend.

Like what you've read?
Help your friends Know It All by sharing this article to your social media.

Most Read Racing