Bristol De Mai - top weight in the National

Randox Grand National: Bristol De Mai top-weight as 68 stand ground

Bristol De Mai tops 68 horses left in Saturday's Randox Grand National after, as expected, Santini was taken out at Monday's acceptance stage.

The latter's stablemates Beware The Bear, Pym and Gold Present were other absentees along with The Jam Man, Brahma Bull, Treacyenniscorthy, Achille and Keeper Hill.

Cloth Cap is set to start a warm favourite for Jonjo O'Neill and Trevor Hemmings following impressive wins in the Ladbrokes Trophy at Newbury and the bet365 Premier Chase at Kelso.

Tom Scudamore on Cloth Cap chance

He will be ridden by Tom Scudamore, who told Nick Luck’s Daily Podcast: “It looks like he’s the ideal horse and it’s the old cliche that I wouldn’t swap him for anything. If I was riding something else Cloth Cap would be the one I’d want to ride.

“He stayed four miles plus in the Scottish National, he’s put up some great performances this year and he’s a stone well-in. That all points to him having a great chance, but he’s got to go and actually do it – we’ve seen it time and time again before, you can talk as much as you like, but you’ve got to go and do it. It’s nice to talk about it, it’s a lovely position to be in, but we’ve got to go and do it.”

Strong Irish raiding party at Aintree

Inevitably there's a strong challenge from Ireland including Any Second Now, Burrows Saint and Minella Times, the likely ride of Rachael Blackmore.

Coral Welsh National hero Secret Reprieve is the hope of Wales while dual Becher Chase runner-up Kimberlite Candy is another prominent in the betting.

JOCKEY CAM: On board with Bristol de Mai and Daryl Jacob as they prepare for the Grand National

Grand National runners and riders

5:15pm Randox Grand National Handicap Chase (Grade 3) 4m 2f 74y

Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 11 10 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede

The Storyteller (IRE) 10 11 8 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Mrs Pat Sloan Keith Donoghue

Chris's Dream (IRE) 9 11 7 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Robcour

Yala Enki (FR) 11 11 3 Paul Nicholls Hills of Ledbury Ltd

Ballyoptic (IRE) 11 11 1 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mills & Mason Partnership

Definitly Red (IRE) 12 11 1 Brian Ellison Phil & Julie Martin

Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 11 0 N. W. Alexander Mr Trevor Hemmings

Burrows Saint (FR) 8 10 13 W. P. Mullins Ireland Mrs S. Ricci

Magic of Light (IRE) 10 10 13 Mrs J. Harrington Ireland Ann & Alan Potts Limited

Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 10 12 W. P. Mullins Ireland Slaneyville Syndicate

Talkischeap (IRE) 9 10 12 Alan King Mr Charles Dingwall

Tout Est Permis (FR) 8 10 12 Noel Meade Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Anibale Fly (FR) 11 10 12 A. J. Martin Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Mister Malarky 8 10 12 Colin Tizzard Wendy & Malcolm Hezel

Kimberlite Candy (IRE) 9 10 10 Tom Lacey Mr John P. McManus

Any Second Now (IRE) 9 10 9 T. M. Walsh Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Balko des Flos (FR) 10 10 9 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Alpha des Obeaux (FR) 11 10 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud Jody McGarvey

Ok Corral (IRE) 11 10 8 Nicky Henderson Mr John P. McManus

Takingrisks (IRE) 12 10 7 Nicky Richards Mr Frank Bird

Shattered Love (IRE) 10 10 7 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Jett (IRE) 10 10 7 Mrs J. Harrington Ireland Mr Robert Waley-Cohen

Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 10 6 Richard Hobson Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith

Potters Corner (IRE) 11 10 6 Christian Williams All Stars Sports, Davies & RacehorseClub

Class Conti (FR) 9 10 6 W. P. Mullins Ireland Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede

Milan Native (IRE) 8 10 6 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Discorama (FR) 8 10 6 Paul Nolan Ireland Thomas Friel/Andrew Gemmell

Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 12 10 5 David Pipe Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John Gent

Cloth Cap (IRE) 9 10 5 Jonjo O'Neill Mr Trevor Hemmings

Cabaret Queen 9 10 5 W. P. Mullins Ireland Syndicates.Racing

Minellacelebration (IRE) 11 10 5 Katy Price Mr Nick Elliott

Canelo (IRE) 8 10 4 Alan King Mr John P. McManus

The Long Mile 7 10 4 J.P.Dempsey Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Give Me A Copper (IRE) 11 10 4 Paul Nicholls Done, Ferguson, Mason, Nicholls & Wood

Farclas (FR) 7 10 3 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud Jack Kennedy

Minella Times (IRE) 8 10 3 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12 10 3 Georgie Howell Ms G. Howell

Hogan's Height (IRE) 10 10 3 Jamie Snowden Foxtrot Racing: Hogan's Height

Double Shuffle (IRE) 11 10 2 Tom George Crossed Fingers Partnership

Ami Desbois (FR) 11 10 2 Graeme McPherson The Reserved Judgment Partnership

Blaklion 12 10 2 Dan Skelton Darren & Annaley Yates

Some Neck (FR) 10 10 1 John McConnell Ireland Some Neck Partnership

Secret Reprieve (IRE) 7 10 1 Evan Williams Mr & Mrs William Rucker

Kauto Riko (FR) 10 9 13 Tom Gretton Mr and Mrs J.Dale and Partners

Fagan 11 9 13 Alex Hales Mr Ben Brackenbury

Deise Aba (IRE) 8 9 13 Philip Hobbs Mr Trevor Hemmings

Valtor (FR) 12 9 13 Nicky Henderson Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede

Golan Fortune (IRE) 9 9 13 Phil Middleton P Middleton, M Lowther

Run Wild Fred (IRE) 7 9 11 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

The Hollow Ginge (IRE) 8 9 11 Nigel Twiston-Davies The Ginge Army

Captain Drake (IRE) 8 9 11 Harry Fry Gary Stevens and Brian and Sandy Lambert

Another Venture (IRE) 10 9 11 Kim Bailey Racing For Maggie's Partnership

Crievehill (IRE) 9 9 11 Nigel Twiston-Davies Highclere T'Bred Racing- Crievehill

Flying Angel (IRE) 10 9 10 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mr R. J. Rexton

Prime Venture (IRE) 10 9 10 Evan Williams Mrs Janet Davies

Le Breuil (FR) 9 9 10 Ben Pauling Mrs Emma Palmer

Hold The Note (IRE) 7 9 9 Mick Channon Mr T. P. Radford

Plan of Attack (IRE) 8 9 9 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Mr A. Halsall

Roaring Bull (IRE) 8 9 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Dounikos (FR) 10 9 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Musical Slave (IRE) 8 9 8 Philip Hobbs Mr John P. McManus

Soupy Soups (IRE) 10 9 8 Neil Mulholland Equi ex Incertis Partners

Beau Bay (FR) 10 9 7 Mr Peter Green & Dr RDP Newland

Shantou Flyer (IRE) 11 9 7 Paul Nicholls David Maxwell Racing Limited

Hear No Evil (IRE) 9 9 7 Noel C. Kelly Northern Ireland Mr Patrick Joseph McCartan

Monbeg Notorious (IRE) 10 9 6 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Aforementioned (FR) 8 9 5 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Fingerontheswitch (IRE) 11 9 3 Neil Mulholland Cahill, Atwell & Crofts

More from Sporting Life

Don't miss Ben Linfoot's exhaustive preview
Like what you've read?

Most Read Racing

Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content