World Series of Darts Finals 2015: MVG wins in Glasgow

Michael van Gerwen overcame Peter Wright 11-10 in a thrilling battle to win the inaugural World Series of Darts Finals in Glasgow on Sunday night.

The in-form Dutchman had earlier beaten Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis on Sunday to book his place in the best-of-21 legs final and roared into a 4-0 lead Braehead Arena as he looked to claim his third successive televised title.

However, Scotland's 'Snakebite', who had previously knocked out James Wade and top seed Phil Taylor, bounced back in emphatic fashion to take the next five legs, including back-to-back 12-darters, but parity was quickly restored when van Gerwen checked out from 170.

The next four legs were shared as both players maintained their heavy scoring power before Mighty Mike edged ahead by breaking the Wright throw.

But he couldn't capitalise as a 116 checkout helped the home favourite level again before a 13-darter moved him 9-8 up.

Van Gerwen took the 18th with another 12-dart finish before the Scot posted double nine to move a leg away from victory - only for his oppoent to then take out 129 with a dramatic bull finish to force a sudden death leg.

Wright's two 140s were bettered by a 180 from van Gerwen as he left 50 after nine darts, and when he was unable to take out 121, the Dutchman stepped in to land double 16 for an 11-darter and glory.

Van Gerwen also won the European Championship and Grand Slam of Darts titles this month and after claiming this £30,000 first prize, the world number one said: "It feels amazing to also win this tournament and it's a good feeling. I had to play really well and I think this was a fantastic final, one of the best.

"Peter's a fantastic player and sooner or later he'll win a TV tournament, but I played well when I had to, especially at the end.

"The 129 was better than the 170 finish, but then the 180 afterwards was even better again because Peter put the pressure on me with a 140 at the start of the last leg, and I can see how strong I am when I need to be.

"The level at the moment is phenomenal and I'm really glad to be a part of that. I'm feeling great and I'm probably playing the best darts of my life.

"I want to win everything but it was a pleasure to play in this event and I think I deserved to win this trophy."

Wright is still waiting for his first televised title and admitted: "It was a good final and I really enjoyed it - and I'm getting closer.

"The 129 was a fantastic shot and Michael played brilliantly in the last leg, and that's why he's number one in the world.

"Michael's a different class above everyone else at the moment, and for me to get that close, having been using these darts for a few weeks, I'm pretty happy and it won't be long before it's my turn.

"I'm pushing Michael and it was good to give him a game because the last time we played I didn't, and there's more to come from me. The support was incredible and I can only thank the fans for their support."

Wright had earlier defeated 16-time world champion Taylor 11-9 in another thrilling contest, taking a 6-3 lead in mid-game and holding off the Stoke legend's fightback to close out the win.

Van Gerwen had been unstoppable in his 11-5 semi-final win over Adrian Lewis, hitting a 108 average and nine 180s in a stunning display.

Lewis - August's Auckland Darts Masters champion - averaged over 100 himself after averaging 105 in his quarter-final win over Terry Jenkins, and admitted: "I lost to the best player in the world at the minute and he was just too good tonight.

"I missed a few doubles early on and he got ahead of me, but I really enjoyed the tournament and it's been another learning curve for me. I'm putting a lot of work in at the moment and the results will start to come." 

World Series of Darts Finals 2015: Results

Saturday November 21
Afternoon Session (12.45pm)
First Round (Best of 11 legs)
Simon Whitlock 4-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Benito van de Pas 4-6 Jamie Lewis
Max Hopp 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael Smith 4-6 Mark Webster
Keegan Brown 6-4 Ian White
Kyle Anderson 4-6 Dave Chisnall
Devon Petersen 3-6 Robert Thornton
Terry Jenkins 6-5 Chris Dobey

Evening Session (7pm)
Second Round (Best of 11 legs)
Stephen Bunting v Rowby-John Rodriguez
James Wade v Jamie Lewis
Peter Wright v Max Hopp
Raymond van Barneveld v Mark Webster
Adrian Lewis v Keegan Brown
Phil Taylor v Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen v Robert Thornton
Gary Anderson v Terry Jenkins

Sunday November 22
Afternoon Session (12.45pm)
Quarter-Finals (Best of 19 legs)
James Wade 6-10 Peter Wright
Phil Taylor 10-3 Stephen Bunting
Adrian Lewis 10-6 Terry Jenkins
Raymond van Barneveld 8-10 Michael van Gerwen

Evening Session (7pm)
Semi-Finals (Best of 21 legs)
Phil Taylor 9-11 Peter Wright
Adrian Lewis 5-11 Michael van Gerwen

Final (Best of 21 legs)
Peter Wright 10-11 Michael van Gerwen 

Like what you've read?


Sporting Life
Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content

Next Off

Fixtures & Results

Fetching latest games....