World Matchplay 2015: MVG brilliant in Blackpool

Michael van Gerwen won the World Matchplay Darts title with a 18-12 victory over James Wade in Blackpool on Sunday.

The Dutchman bolstered his reputation as the world's best player with a dominant performance against Wade, firing in a string of blistering finishes on the way to an 18-12 win.

Just 12 months ago, Van Gerwen had departed the stage in tears following a painful final defeat by Phil Taylor, but with his conqueror absent after a semi-final exit, Van Gerwen took out his angst on Wade. 

The Aldershot man had showcased his best form while ousting Taylor and snatched an early 4-2 lead with a two-dart 61 combination. 

But Van Gerwen was not behind for long, compiling legs in a blur of bright green, and levelled the match at 6-6 following a classy 127 checkout.

Suddenly Wade's sights were slipping as he became increasingly flustered with his finishing and Van Gerwen gleefully pinched a couple of legs for an 8-6 lead.

A 144 finish propelled the man known as the 'Green Machine' further in front and he blasted out 180s at the start of legs to heap more strain on the wilting Wade.

Lifting the elusive trophy suddenly seemed a simple task as Van Gerwen collected three more legs, including another crucial break, for a 15-9 lead.

Wade, a title winner in 2007, was a mere bystander in the closing stages of this showpiece and his occasional legs just delayed Van Gerwen's coronation.

The world no 1 scorched towards victory with his ninth 180 and then took out double 20 to secure a maiden crown and the £100,000 winner's cheque. 

World Matchplay 2015: Daily Results

Saturday July 18
Evening Session
First Round
Simon Whitlock 10-4 Jelle Klaasen
Peter Wright 10-5 Kim Huybrechts
Michael van Gerwen 10-4 Benito van de Pas
Adrian Lewis 10-7 Joe Murnan

Sunday July 19
Afternoon Session
First Round
Mervyn King 8-10 Andrew Gilding
Ian White 10-6 Stephen Bunting
Justin Pipe 7-10 Jamie Lewis
Michael Smith 4-10 Gerwyn Price

Evening Session
First Round
Brendan Dolan 10-6 Vincent van der Voort
Terry Jenkins 9-11 Mensur Suljovic
Gary Anderson 10-4 Steve Beaton
James Wade 10-7 Kyle Anderson

Monday July 20
Evening Session
First Round
Robert Thornton 7-10 Keegan Brown
Dave Chisnall 13-11 Jamie Caven
Phil Taylor 10-2 John Henderson
Raymond van Barneveld 7-10 Andy Hamilton

Tuesday July 21
Evening Session
Second Round
Peter Wright 13-7 Andrew Gilding
Simon Whitlock 9-13 Ian White
Michael Van Gerwen 13-2 Jamie Lewis
Adrian Lewis 10-13 Gerwyn Price

Wednesday July 22
Evening Session
Second Round
Dave Chisnall 13-11 Keegan Brown
James Wade 13-8 Brendan Dolan
Phil Taylor 13-6 Andy Hamilton
Gary Anderson 9-13 Mensur Suljovic

Thursday July 23
Evening Session
Peter Wright 16-7 Gerwyn Price
Michael Van Gerwen 16-13 Ian White

Friday July 24
Evening Session
Phil Taylor 16-8 Dave Chisnall
James Wade 16-11 Mensur Suljovic

Saturday July 25
Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 17-12 Peter Wright
Phil Taylor 17-14 James Wade

Sunday July 26
Evening Session
James Wade 12-18 Michael van Gerwen 

Like what you've read?


Sporting Life
Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content

Next Off

Fixtures & Results

Fetching latest games....