Premier League Darts 2015: Gary Anderson crowned king

World champion Gary Anderson added the Premier League crown to his array of titles by beating world number one Michael van Gerwen 11-7 on Thursday night.

Anderson, who also won the Players Championship, took advantage of some sloppy finishing from table-topping Van Gerwen to take home the title for the second time in his career.

"It's been four years since I got my hands on this baby, but Chizzy (Dave Chisnall) was the best player of this tournament," the borders thrower told Sky Sports 1.

"Michael van Gerwen is hot property. You won't see him lose many tournaments but I'm glad he did tonight."

Anderson, who had said he wanted to play Van Gerwen, added: "I know how he plays. He throws the darts and gets on with it. Those are the games I like to play in."

'The Flying Scotsman' came hurtling back from 2-0 down to win seven out of eight legs before the interval to move to within four legs of a second Premier League crown following his victory in 2011.

Van Gerwen missed nine darts at the double up until that point, although seven of those came in the eighth leg of the match.

A two-dart rot stopper in the 11th leg helped the Dutchman regain his composure before missing more vital shots at the double at 7-5 to allow his opponent to nip in and hold throw.

Anderson moved to within one leg of the title by taking out 96 and he wrapped up victory by holding his nerve and nailing double top.

"If you lose you're never happy," said Van Gerwen. "I can only blame myself so roll on the next tournament.

"You can't win all the time so I still need to be happy with the tournament."

Anderson's semi-final had proven a tight affair, with the opening six legs shared before Chisnall - aided by a 152 checkout for a 12-darter, a 14-darter to break throw and a 13-dart leg - moved 6-3 up in the blink of an eye.

He also held a 7-4 advantage before Anderson hit back-to-back 14-darters in a three-leg burst of his own to level - only to then miss tops to break throw as Chisnall edged back ahead at 8-7.

Anderson finished tops to level before the duo traded 68 checkouts to send the game into a deciding leg, with Chisnall opening with a 180 only to miss three match darts at double 16, eight and four to allow the Scot in for a 116 checkout as he sneaked the victory.

The second semi-final proved equally dramatic as van Gerwen ended Raymond van Barneveld's proud defence of the title with a 10-8 triumph in a repeat of the 2014 final.

Van Gerwen landed a 121 finish for a 12-darter as the pair shared their opening eight legs before van Barneveld took three in a row to pull clear - missing double 12 for a nine-dart finish as he took out a ten-darter before then finishing 110 for a 7-4 cushion.

The world number one, though, hit back in amazing fashion by taking out a 127 finish for a 12-darter and legs of 11, 15, 11 and 15 darts to suddenly turn the game on its head and lead 9-7.

Van Barneveld landed his seventh 180 of the contest as he hit back in the next, but van Gerwen was first to a double in leg 18 as he fired in double four for the win.

Anderson will now be aiming to win the triple crown when the roadshow heads to Blackpool later this summer at the World Matchplay, live on Sky Sports.

The victory for 'The Flying Scotsman' was also good news for our Carl Longhawn after he backed him at 100/30 in his preview of the final night of this season's Premier League.

Premier League 2015: Weekly Results

Night One, Thursday February 5
First Direct Arena, Leeds
Dave Chisnall 7-1 Peter Wright
Raymond van Barneveld 1-7 Adrian Lewis
Kim Huybrechts 3-7 Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson 7-5 Phil Taylor
Stephen Bunting 6-6 James Wade

Night Two, Thursday February 12
BIC, Bournemouth
Peter Wright 1-7 Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen 7-3 Stephen Bunting
Adrian Lewis 2-7 Phil Taylor
James Wade 7-2 Kim Huybrechts
Dave Chisnall 7-5 Raymond van Barneveld

Night Three, Thursday February 19
Echo Arena, Liverpool
James Wade 6-6 Dave Chisnall
Peter Wright 6-6 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 7-1 Stephen Bunting
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Gary Anderson
Adrian Lewis 6-6 Kim Huybrechts

Night Four, Thursday February 26
Odyssey Arena, Belfast
Kim Huybrechts 4-7 Dave Chisnall
Gary Anderson 7-4 James Wade
Michael van Gerwen 6-6 Adrian Lewis
Stephen Bunting 4-7 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 6-6 Peter Wright

Night Five, Thursday March 5
Westpoint Arena, Exeter
Raymond van Barneveld 5-7 Kim Huybrechts
James Wade 5-7 Phil Taylor
Adrian Lewis 3-7 Stephen Bunting
Peter Wright 6-6 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 7-2 Gary Anderson

Night Six, Thursday March 12
Capital FM Arena, Nottingham
Stephen Bunting 7-3 Dave Chisnall
Raymond van Barneveld 3-7 James Wade
Phil Taylor 3-7 Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson 7-1 Adrian Lewis
Kim Huybrechts 5-7 Peter Wright

Night Seven, Thursday March 19
The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
James Wade 6-6 Adrian Lewis
Peter Wright 6-6 Stephen Bunting
Raymond van Barneveld 7-4 Phil Taylor
Kim Huybrechts 5-7 Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall 4-7 Michael van Gerwen

Night Eight, Thursday March 26
3Arena, Dublin
Adrian Lewis 2-7 Dave Chisnall
Gary Anderson 7-4 Stephen Bunting
Peter Wright 3-7 James Wade
Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 7-4 Kim Huybrechts
Click here for full review

Judgement Night, Thursday April 2
The Manchester Arena
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 James Wade
Stephen Bunting 6-6 Kim Huybrechts
Gary Anderson 6-6 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 4-7 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 7-4 Peter Wright

Following Week Nine, the bottom two players from the league table were eliminated - Kim Huybrechts and Peter Wright. Revised fixtures for Weeks 10-15 have been announced, with the remaining eight players facing each other once more during the final six league nights.

Night Ten, Thursday April 9
Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield
Adrian Lewis 7-4 James Wade
Gary Anderson 3-7 Dave Chisnall
Phil Taylor 2-7 Raymond van Barneveld
Stephen Bunting 5-7 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 7-1 James Wade

Night 11, Thursday April 16
GE Oil & GAs Arena, Aberdeen
Dave Chisnall 3-7 Phil Taylor
Stephen Bunting 2-7 Adrian Lewis
James Wade 6-6 Gary Anderson
Raymond van Barneveld 7-3 Michael van Gerwen
Stephen Bunting 6-6 Phil Taylor

Night 12, Thursday April 23
Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
Stephen Bunting 7-1 Gary Anderson
James Wade 0-7 Michael van Gerwen
Raymond van Barneveld 7-5 Dave Chisnall
Phil Taylor 6-6 Adrian Lewis
Gary Anderson 7-5 Michael van Gerwen

Night 13, Thursday April 30
The Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham
Dave Chisnall 7-4 Adrian Lewis
Raymond van Barneveld 7-5 Gary Anderson
James Wade 6-6 Stephen Bunting
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Phil Taylor
Adrian Lewis 2-7 Raymond van Barneveld

Night 14, Thursday May 7
Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
James Wade 6-6 Raymond van Barneveld
Dave Chisnall 7-1 Stephen Bunting
Adrian Lewis 5-7 Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor 5-7 Gary Anderson

Night 15, Thursday May 14
The Brighton Centre
Michael van Gerwen 6-6 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 3-7 Gary Anderson
Raymond van Barneveld 7-4 Stephen Bunting
Phil Taylor 7-1 James Wade

Finals Night, Thursday May 21
The O2, London
Dave Chisnall 9-10 Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen 10-8 Raymond van Barneveld

Gary Anderson 11-7 Michael van Gerwen

Like what you've read?


Sporting Life
Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content

Next Off

Fixtures & Results

Fetching latest games....