Harry Kane celebrates his goal for England at the World Cup
Harry Kane celebrates his goal for England at the World Cup

World Cup 2018: England's Harry Kane wins Golden Boot award

Harry Kane has finished as the World Cup's top scorer to join Gary Lineker as England's only Golden Boot winners.

The 24-year-old was available at 25/1 in November with Sky Bet to win the award, with the online bookmaker boosting him to 7/1 on June 18.

His six-goal haul proved insurmountable as his remaining nearest rivals - Antoine Griezmann and Kylian Mbappe - both scored once more during France's 4-2 victory over Croatia 4-2 to end up on four each alongside Romelu Lukaku, Cristiano Ronaldo and Denis Cheryshev.

Kane scored a brace in England's Group G opener against Tunisia before netting a hat-trick against Panama and scoring a penalty as Colombia were overcome in the last-16.

The Tottenham striker tailed off and failed to score in England's last three matches in Russia, but his six-goal haul was still two clear of a group of five players.

Lineker is the only previous Englishman to win the Golden Boot, having also managed six goals during the 1986 World Cup.

Meanwhile, Croatia's Luka Modric was the winner of the Golden Ball, Kylian Mbappe young player of the tournament and Thibaut Courtois the recipient of the Golden Glove - read more here.

Previous World Cup top scorers (since 1966)

Gary Lineker pictured during his England playing days
Gary Lineker, pictured during his England playing days
  • 1966 England - Eusebio (Portugal)
  • 1970 Mexico - Gerd Muller (West Germany)
  • 1974 West Germany - Grzegorz Lato (Poland)
  • 1978 Argentina - Mario Kempes (Argentina)
  • 1982 Spain - Paolo Rossi (Italy)
  • 1986 Mexico - Gary Lineker (England)
  • 1990 Italy - Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)
  • 1994 United States - Oleg Salenko (Russia) and Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
  • 1998 France - Davor Suker (Croatia)
  • 2002 South Korea/Japan - Ronaldo (Brazil)
  • 2006 Germany - Miroslav Klose (Germany)
  • 2010 South Africa - Thomas Muller (Germany)
  • 2014 Brazil - James Rodriguez (Colombia)

Follow Sporting Life on social media - find us on Facebook here or tweet @SportingLife

Page last updated at 1900 BST on 15/07/2018

Related football links

Like what you've read?


Sporting Life
Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content


We are committed to Safer Gambling and have a number of self-help tools to help you manage your gambling. We also work with a number of independent charitable organisations who can offer help and answers any questions you may have.
Gamble Aware LogoGamble Helpline LogoGamstop LogoGordon Moody LogoSafer Gambling Standard LogoGamban Logo18+ LogoTake Time To Think Logo