European Darts Grand Prix: Michael van Gerwen wins his 10th title of 2018 by defeating James Wade

Michael van Gerwen celebrates his triumph (Kelly Deckers, PDC Europe)

Michael van Gerwen averaged 110 in a stunning display as he defeated James Wade 8-3 in the European Darts Grand Prix final.

The Dutchman hardly gave the Machine a chance in Sindelfingen as he nailed 50% of his doubles, produced a high checkout of 161 and also weighed in with three 180s.

It capped off a superb weekend for MVG as he averaged a staggering 107.58 overall for his five games, that also included a crushing 7-0 demolition of fellow Premier League Play-Offs contender Michael Smith thanks to an average of 109.6, to further underline his status as the world's number one.

That said, Van Gerwen was pushed to the limit by Dave Chisnall in a gripping quarter-final in which the pair posted averages of 109.54 and 107.5 respectively while he only just edged out Darren Webster 6-5 in the previous round.

This is MVG's 10th ranking success of the season, including three on the European Tour that takes his career tally to 23, while he's now collected 107 singles titles of a remarkable career. And he's only 29.

Van Gerwen said: "I think that was my best tournament ever. Three 110 averages, what more do you want? When you have to fight for something, you appreciate it more. I'm a very happy man.

"Other players always push me, and I have to do something special to win these games. James is back on track and playing consistently well again. He pushed me all the way especially at the start of the game."

Wade's highlight of his impressive march to the final was a 6-5 success over world champion Rob Cross in the third round, taking out 117 in the deciding leg and ending with an average of 100.

The Englishman, who was searching for his first PDC title since landing the European Matchplay in 2016, then defeated Simon Whitlock 6-3 and Danny Noppet 7-3 to reach the final only to come up short against a relentless MVG.

Wade said: "The first three or four legs I brought the game to him but after that I wasn't good enough. I'm stepping in the right direction, it's not there but it's nearly there. Hats off to Michael, he played brilliantly all day."

European Darts Grand Prix: Tournament results

Friday May 4
Afternoon Session
First Round (best of 11 legs)

  • Peter Hudson 3-6 Arron Monk
  • Madars Razma 6-4 Steve Hine
  • Matt Padgett 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
  • Steve Lennon 4-6 Vincent van der Voort
  • Gabriel Clemens 3-6 Jan Dekker
  • Stephen Bunting 2-6 Kirk Shepherd
  • Mats Gies 3-6 Alan Tabern
  • Martin Schindler 6-0 Robert Owen

Evening session
Best of 11 legs

  • Danny Noppert 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
  • Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Toni Alcinas
  • Jamie Lewis 6-4 Christian Bunse
  • Jamie Caven 6-1 Mareno Michels
  • Ricky Evans 4-6 Kyle Anderson
  • James Wade 6-4 Max Hopp
  • Dawson Murschell 2-6 Paul Nicholson
  • Robert Marijanovic 6-3 Andy Boulton


Saturday May 5
Second round
Afternoon session
Best of 11 legs

  • Ian White 6-1 Madars Razma
  • Dave Chisnall 6-5 Matt Padgett
  • Jelle Klaasen 3-6 Jermaine Wattimena
  • Joe Cullen 6-5 Martin Schindler
  • Gerwyn Price 5-6 Danny Noppert
  • Michael Smith 6-5 Arron Monk
  • Kim Huybrechts 4-6 Kyle Anderson
  • Simon Whitlock 6-0 Jan Dekker

Evening session
Best of 11 legs

  • Daryl Gurney 4-6 Jamie Lewis
  • Darren Webster 6-3 Robert Marijanovic
  • Mervyn King 4-6 Paul Nicholson
  • Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Jamie Caven
  • Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Alan Tabern
  • Peter Wright 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
  • John Henderson 4-6 James Wade
  • Rob Cross 6-5 Vincent Van der Voort


Sunday May 6
Afternoon session
Best of 11 legs

  • Michael Van Gerwen 6-5 Darren Webster
  • Dave Chisnall 6-5 Ian White
  • Jamie Lewis 6-5 Paul Nicholson
  • Michael Smith 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
  • Peter Wright 5-6 Danny Noppert
  • Joe Cullen 6-3 Kyle Anderson
  • Mensur Suljovic 4-6 Simon Whitlock
  • Rob Cross 5-6 James Wade

Evening session
Best of 11 legs

  • Michael Van Gerwen 6-4 Dave Chisnall
  • Jamie Lewis 2-6 Michael Smith
  • Danny Noppert 6-5 Joe Cullen
  • Simon Whitlock 3-6 James Wade

Best of 13 legs

  • Michael van Gerwen 7-0 Michael Smith
  • Danny Noppert 3-7 James Wade

Best of 15 legs

  • Michael van Gerwen 8-3 James Wade

Related darts links

Like what you've read?
Help your friends Know It All by sharing this article to your social media.

Most Read