Stable Staff - crucial to the industry

Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards: Rebecca Edmunds crowned

Rebecca Edmunds of Bryan Smart Racing was named Employee of the Year at 2021 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards at a virtual ceremony on Monday evening.

Edmunds will receive £10,000 for herself for winning the title, with a further £10,000 to be shared among her colleagues at Bryan Smart Racing, as well as the perpetual Godolphin Trophy.

Edmunds was also the recipient of the Leadership Award, earning herself and her colleagues an additional £5,000 each.

Smart cited her “exceptional knowledge, unwavering dedication and loyalty” in her nomination, with the competition judges hailing her as “a superb ambassador not only for her yard but the sport as a whole”.

Nick Luck, chair of the judging panel, said: “There surely cannot be many prizes as difficult to judge as the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards. Everybody nominated is so deserving of the recognition winning brings and it was a pleasure to get to know the individuals put forward by their colleagues for consideration this year.

“Beck is a most deserving winner of the Employee of the Year Award and all of her colleagues at Bryan Smart Racing should rightly feel very proud this evening.

“We know that the continuation of racing over the past few months has had a positive impact on the mental health of the sport’s fans during a most difficult year, so it is right that we acknowledge the sacrifices made by racing staff to make this possible.

“These dedicated and talented people have worked hard throughout to provide world-class care to our horses, ensuring they are fit and ready to perform at the highest level for our entertainment.

“My congratulations go to all of our winners this evening, as well as those nominated. I also would also like to extend the thanks of the judging panel to racing staff for their incredible work in the last 12 months.”

Other winners included Alice Price from Ben Pauling’s yard who picked up the Newcomer prize and Joanna Lacisz from the Sir Michael Stoute team, who took the Rider/Groom honours.

Newsell Park Stud’s Elody Swann landed the Stud Staff award and Joline Saunders, from Richard Phillips’ yard, was the recipient of the Dedication accolade.

Phillips himself collected the Community Award, presented in recognition of the work Rory MacDonald achieved at the British Racing School.

Like what you've read?

Most Read Racing

Join for free!
Access to exclusive features all for FREE - No monthly subscription fee
Race Replays
My stable horse tracker
giftOffers and prize draws
newsExclusive content