Murray, Djokovic head US Open field

  • By: Andy Schooler
  • Last Updated: July 17 2013, 21:53 BST

Defending champion Andy Murray and world number one Novak Djokovic head the field for this year's US Open.

Murray (r) beat Djokovic in last year's US Open final

The pair are two of six former champions in the men's singles line-up - one made up of the world's top 102 players.

Rafael Nadal, five-time winner Roger Federer, Juan Martin Del Potro and Lleyton Hewitt, who won the title back in 2001, are the others who have lifted the trophy.

Murray, who beat Djokovic in a five-set thriller in last year's final, will arrive in New York as the new Wimbledon champion having also beaten the Serb in London earlier this month.

Pole Michal Przysiezny was the last direct acceptance into the 128-man draw. Both Pablo Cuevas and Jurgen Zopp will play under protected rankings following spells out due to injury. The field will be completed by 16 qualifiers and eight wild cards.

The women's field will be announced on Thursday.

This year's tournament takes place from August 26 to September 9 at Flushing Meadows.

It features a different schedule for the first time in years with the men's semis on the second Saturday and the final being played on a Monday evening.

Meanwhile, the women's semis will be held on the second Friday with the final two days later.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet