Ferrer takes Auckland title

  • Last Updated: January 12 2013, 8:33 GMT

World number five David Ferrer secured his fourth singles title at Auckland after beating second seed Philipp Kohlschreiber 7-6 (7/5) 6-1.

David Ferrer: Auckland winner again
David Ferrer: Auckland winner again

The victory means Ferrer joins Australia's Roy Emerson as the only player to win the event four times.

Ferrer twice recovered from a break of serve in the opening set, with the second break putting Kohlschreiber, who won the title in 2008, 5-4 ahead.

The Spaniard broke back and won the tie-breaker before blowing away the German in the second, breaking him three times.

Ferrer wrapped up the win in one hour and 18 minutes, beating Kohlschreiber for the second year in a row at the event.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week