Djokovic named world champion

  • By: Andy Schooler
  • Last Updated: December 18 2013, 14:50 GMT

Novak Djokovic has surprisingly been named as 2013 world champion by the International Tennis Federation.

Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic at this year's World Champions Dinner
Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic at this year's World Champions Dinner

Djokovic was chosen above the year-end world number one Rafael Nadal to claim the honour for the third year in a row.

The Serb was named world champion despite winning fewer Grand Slams (1-2), fewer titles overall (7-10) and fewer matches (74-75) than Nadal.

It would appear Djokovic's commitment to the Davis Cup, an ITF-run competition, essentially led to him pipping Nadal to the prize. He played in every round and was unbeaten in singles play as Serbia reached the final, whereas Nadal only played in one play-off tie.

In justifying the decision, ITF president Francesco Ricci Bitti said: "Our criteria rewards players for their performances at the Grand Slam tournaments and in our team competitions.

"Rafael Nadal made a remarkable comeback from injury with two Grand Slam wins, but it is Novak Djokovic's consistent results across all four Slams, Davis Cup and the ATP World Tour Finals that sees him named world champion."

Djokovic said: "It is an honour to be named ITF world champion for the third year running. I've had a great 2013 season, and managed to end the year on a high. This will definitely serve as a good platform for 2014."

Serena Williams was a somewhat less controversial women's world champion, winning the award for the second year in a row.

She lost only four of her 82 matches in 2013, winning 11 titles in all, including two Grand Slams - the French and US Opens. It is the fourth time in total she has been named world champion.

Bob and Mike Bryan were chosen as men's doubles world champions for the 10th time in 11 years, while Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci retained their world champion tag.

Germany's Alexander Zverev and Swiss youngster Belinda Bencic were crowned junior world champions, while the wheelchair tennis awards went to Shingo Kunieda and Aniek van Koot.

All the award winners will receive their prizes at the ITF World Champions Dinner which takes place on June 3 in Paris during the French Open.

New Sky Bet customers: Free £30 matched bet