Lee handed full Wales debut

  • Last Updated: June 19 2014, 14:06 BST

Scarlets prop Samson Lee will make his first start for Wales as one of two changes to their side to face South Africa on Saturday.

Samson Lee: Scarlets prop will make his full debut against South Africa
Samson Lee: Scarlets prop will make his full debut against South Africa

The 21-year-old, who made his international debut off the bench against Argentina in November, joins Gethin Jenkins and Ken Owens.

Flanker Josh Turnbull also comes into the starting pack, having featured among the replacements in the defeat to the Springboks last weekend.

Skipper Alun Wyn Jones, who will make his 80th appearance for Wales continues his partnership with Luke Charteris in the second row with Turnbull lining up alongside British and Irish Lions pair Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau.

The back line remains unchanged from the first Test with Wales' record centre partnership of Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies in the midfield.

Mike Phillips and Dan Biggar are named at half-back, George North and Alex Cuthbert are on the wings and Liam Williams plays at full-back.

"We have been really happy with the response from the players during training this week, we have had a good week and we see Saturday as an opportunity to right the wrongs of last weekend," said coach Warren Gatland.

"We were disappointed with last week's display but we want to finish the season with a big performance and show what we know we are capable of.

"It's a great opportunity for Samson and Josh and they deserve the chance after impressing from the bench last weekend.

There are three changes in the replacements with Aaron Jarvis, Jake Ball and Dan Baker all coming into the matchday squad. They join Matthew Rees and Paul James as the forward contingent. Gareth Davies and Matthew Morgan, who both made their international debuts in Durban, are named on the bench along with James Hook.

Wales team to play South Africa:

Liam Williams, Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies, Roberts, North, Biggar, Phillips, Gethin Jenkins, Owens, Lee, Charteris, Alun Wyn Jones (Capt), Lydiate, Turnbull, Faletau.

Replacements: Rees, James, Jarvis, Ball, Baker, Gareth Davies, Hook, Morgan.