Springboks make two changes

  • Last Updated: September 12 2012, 6:20 BST

South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has made two changes to his pack for Saturday's Rugby Championship clash with New Zealand in Dunedin.

Francois Louw: Named in the South Africa back row

Following the 26-19 loss to Australia last time out, Meyer has recalled Flip van der Merwe and Francois Louw.

Lock van der Merwe comes in for the suspended Eben Etzebeth while Bath flanker Louw is preferred to Marcell Coetzee in the back-row.

"The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois," said Meyer.

"Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option."

Coetzee drops to the bench, where he is joined by Dean Greyling, Andries Bekker and Juan de Jongh.

Pat Cilliers is been placed on standby to come straight into the starting XV should Jannie du Plessis fail a late fitness test.

Tighthead du Plessis is receiving treatment on a hamstring injury and has until Friday to prove he is fit play.

"We will not take any chances with injured players and we have time to get him and Pat match ready," said Meyer.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Patrick Lambie.