Northampton 18 - 12 Castres

Match info: Rugby Champions Cup at Franklin's Gardens

Date: 11/01/2013 KO: 20:00 Att: 11,891

Home team/scorers Scores Away team/scorers


PenaltiesMyler (19, 30, 50) Lamb (65, 71, 78)



PenaltiesKockott (16, 33, 68, 80)

FT (ht: 6-6)

  • Last Updated: January 10 2013, 15:44 GMT

Northampton will welcome back England flanker Tom Wood for their must-win Heineken Cup clash with Castres on Friday at Franklin's Gardens.

  • Tom Wood: Returns to the Northampton back row
  • Rory Kockott: Will start at scrum-half for Castres 

The Saints kept alive their quarter-final hopes with victory over Ulster at Ravenhill in round four, however they remain five points off an automatic qualification place.

Victory over the French outfit, though, will see them climb to second and keep the heat on Ulster at the top.

Wood comes into a rejigged back-row, with Phil Dowson moving to No 8, while lock Samu Manoa also comes into the pack.

The only change in the back division sees James Wilson replace the injured Ken Pisi (ankle) on the wing.

Castres have handed want-away scrum-half Rory Kockott a start for the Pool Four encounter.

Kockott wants to leave the club in a bid to further his Test ambitions however he will link up with former Hurricanes No 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick at half-back.

Northampton: 15 Ben Foden, 14 James Wilson, 13 George Pisi, 12 Dom Waldouck, 11 Jamie Elliott, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Phil Dowson, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Calum Clark, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Paul Doran-Jones, 2 Dylan Hartley (capt), 1 Soane Tonga'uiha.
Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Tom Mercey, 19 Mark Sorenson, 20 GJ Van Velze, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Tom May.

Castres: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Max Evans, 13 Romain Cabannes, 12 Remi Lamerat, 11 Marcel Garvey, 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Antonie Claassen, 7 Yannick Caballero, 6 Jannie Bornman, 5 Iosefa Tekori, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Anton Peikrishvili, 2 Mathieu Bonello, 1 Yannick Forestier.
Replacements: 16 Brice Mach, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Michael Coetzee, 19 Matthias Rolland, 20 Paul Bonnefond, 21 Pedrie Wannenburg, 22 Pierre Bernard, 23 Thomas Sanchou.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week