Toulon 62 - 0 Sale Sharks

Match info: Rugby Champions Cup at

Date: 16/12/2012 KO: 15:00 Att: 15,000

Home team/scorers Scores Away team/scorers


TriesOrioli (32) Michalak (37) van Niekerk (46, 68) Kubriashvili (51) Armitage (58) Armitage (62) Wulf (76) Smith (80)ConversionsMichalak (32, 37, 47, 52, 59, 68) Wilkinson (76)PenaltiesMichalak (6)



FT (ht: 17-0)

  • Last Updated: December 14 2012, 17:45 GMT

Several of Toulon's top players have been left on the replacements bench for their Heineken Cup Pool match with Sale on Sunday.

  • Frederic Michalak: Will start for Toulon for their clash against Sale on Sunday
  • Danny Cipriani: Has been named in the Sale side for this weekend's game 

Despite winning 17-6 against the English side last week, the big-spending French outfit did not have things their own way at Salford City Stadium.

However, as they have a five-point lead in the Pool, Toulon have left star names including Jonny Wilkinson, Carl Hayman, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and Mathieu Bastareaud on the bench for the return fixture in France.

In their places, Maxime Mermoz, Fred Michalak, Davit Kubriashvili and Joe van Niekerk will start, with Gethin Jenkins and Nick Kennedy also named in the side.

Meanwhile, for Sale, this will be the first visit to Stade Felix Mayol.

They have named Danny Cipriani who will wear No 10, with Rob Miller on the left wing. Mark Cueto is moved to outside centre with Aston Croall making a rare start at hooker.

Toulon: 15 Delon Armitage, 14. Rudi Wulf, 13 Maxime Mermoz, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 David Smith, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Sébastien Tillous-Borde, 8 Joe Van Niekerk, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Pierrick Gunther, 5 Nick Kennedy, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Davit Kubriashvili, 2 Jean-Charles Orioli, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Sebastien Bruno, 17 Andrew Sheridan, 18 Carl Hayman, 19 Jocelino Suta, 20 Mathieu Bastareaud, 21 Juan Fernandez Lobbe, 22 Jonny Wilkinson, 23 Simon Shaw.

Sale: 15 Cameron Shepherd, 14 Mark Jennings, 13 Mark Cueto, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Rob Miller, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Richie Vernon, 7 David Seymour, 6 James Gaskell, 5 Fraser McKenzie, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 2 Aston Croall, 1 Ross Harrison.
Replacements: 16 Tom Cruise, 17 Vadim Cobilas, 18 Tony Buckley, 19 Kearnan Myall, 20 Andy Powell, 21 Cillian Willis, 22 Sam Tuitupou, 23 Charlie Amesbury.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week