Wasps 14 - 12 Leicester Tigers

Match info: Premiership at Adams Park

Date: 25/11/2012 KO: 14:30 Att: 7,658

Home team/scorers Scores Away team/scorers


TriesVarndell (3)PenaltiesRobinson (7) Thomas (53, 59)



PenaltiesFord (11, 34, 44, 62)

FT (ht: 8-6)

  • Last Updated: November 23 2012, 15:26 GMT

Wasps will welcome back Joe Simpson and Nick Robinson to their line-up for Sunday's Premiership clash with Leicester Tigers.

  • Joe Simpson: Returns to the Wasps starting XV
  • Thomas Waldrom: Released from the England squad 

Simpson and Robinson have both been declared fit to team up at half-back, with Christian Wade returning on the wing.

In the pack Phil Swainston makes his first Premiership start, with Jonathan Poff, Billy Vunipola and Marco Wentzel, Tim Payne and T Rhys Thomas also named in the side.

Will Taylor and on-loan London Scottish lock Josh Brown are also named on the bench after impressing in the LV= Cup.

Director of rugby Dai Young said: "We know that we have a tough task ahead of us this weekend.

"Leicester have a very strong squad of players and despite having some members of that squad away on international duty they have quality players who can come in.

"Our form and results at Adams Park have been very encouraging and the players will be doing their utmost to keep that going this Sunday."

The Tigers have named Anthony Allen and Thomas Waldrom in their starting XV after the duo were released from the England camp.

A front-row crisis - with Dan Cole, Martin Castrogiovanni and Marcos Ayerza on international duty and Boris Stankovich suspended - means Jonny Harris and Fraser Balmain will start alongside George Chuter. On-loan Nottingham prop Michael Holford, a former Wasps player, provides cover on the bench.

Club captain Geordan Murphy is also named among the replacements after missing the last three matches - with Mathew Tait continuing his return to fitness at full-back.


Wasps: 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Tom Varndell, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Chris Bell, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Nick Robinson, 9 Joe Simpson, 1 Tim Payne, 2 T Rhys Thomas, 3 Phil Swainston, 4 James Cannon, 5 Marco Wentzel, 6 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jonathan Poff, 8 Billy Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Will Taylor, 19 Josh Brown, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Lee Thomas.

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Niall Morris, 13 Matt Smith, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 George Ford, 9 Sam Harrison, 1 Jonny Harris, 2 George Chuter, 3 Fraser Balmain, 4 Louis Deacon (c), 5 Graham Kitchener, 6 Jordan Crane, 7 Julian Salvi, 8 Thomas Waldrom.
Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Michael Holford, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Richard Thorpe, 21 Patrick Phibbs, 22 Dan Bowden, 23 Geordan Murphy.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week