Warrington Wolves 16 - 30 Wigan Warriors

Match info: Super League at

Date: 05/10/2013 KO: 18:00 Att: 66,281

Home team/scorers Scores Away team/scorers


TriesMonaghan (22) Grix (25) Westwood (28)ConversionsRatchford (25, 28)



TriesGoulding (39) Mcllorum (48) Charnley (53) Green (65) Richards (75)ConversionsRichards (12, 48, 53, 65, 75)

FT (ht: 16-6)

  • Last Updated: October 4 2013, 10:11 BST

Wigan's Grand Final hopes received a major boost with confirmation that captain Sean O'Loughlin has been passed fit to play in Saturday's Old Trafford clash with Warrington.

Sean O'Loughlin: Part of Wigan's squad for the Grand Final
Sean O'Loughlin: Part of Wigan's squad for the Grand Final

The England loose forward has not played since picking up an Achilles injury in the Warriors' 16-0 win over Hull in the Challenge Cup final at Wembley in August.

However, Wigan say he has been given the all-clear by a specialist and was on Thursday named in coach Shaun Wane's 19-man squad.

"Sean has had a good week and it is great news, he is fit to play," Wane said.

The return of O'Loughlin is likely to be the only change to the side that beat Leeds in last Friday's semi-final, with Ben Flower reverting from loose forward to prop and Gil Dudson dropping to the bench.

Jack Hughes is likely to be the one to make way from the 19, along with Anthony Gelling.

Warrington will be at full strength, with second rower Trent Waterhouse set to return after missing the semi-final win over Huddersfield with a knee injury.

Veteran full-back Brett Hodgson, who is leaving the club at the end of the match, has been named in coach Tony Smith's 19-man squad but is once more likely to miss out.

Warrington (alphabetical order): R Atkin, C Bridge, L Briers, G Carvell, M Cooper, S Grix, B Harrison, M Higham, C Hill, B Hodgson, J Monaghan, M Monaghan, A Morley (capt), R Myler, S Ratchford, C Riley, T Waterhouse, B Westwood, P Wood.

Wigan: J Charnley, D Crosby, G Dudson, L Farrell, B Flower, A Gelling, D Goulding, B Green, H Hansen, J Hughes, M McIlorum, L Mossop, S O'Loughlin, P Richards, M Smith, S Taylor, I Thornley, L Tomkins, S Tomkins.

Referee: R Silverwood (Mirfield).

Sky Bet Free Bet Club: £10 free bet - £5 free every week