Last takes chance but First ruled out

  • Last Updated: March 14 2014, 10:33 GMT

Last Instalment will run in the Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup this afternoon, but fellow Gigginstown House Stud-owned contender First Lieutenant is a non-runner.

Philip Fenton has given his charge the go-ahead
Philip Fenton has given his charge the go-ahead

Connections are satisfied the ground is safe enough for Irish Hennessy hero Last Instalment to take his chance in the blue riband of steeplechasing.

"We've walked the course. The ground is good to yielding and we're happy to run," said trainer Philip Fenton.

"The horse is in great form."

Last Instalment's participation had been in some doubt because of his history of leg problems.

The Mouse Morris-trained First Lieutenant is reported to have not eaten up.


Open a Sky Bet account through us and claim up to £150 in free bets!