Weening climbs to Giro win

  • By: Matt Westby
  • Last Updated: May 18 2014, 16:57 BST

Orica GreenEdge's love affair with the 2014 Giro d'Italia continued as Pieter Weening won stage nine for the Australian team from Italian Davide Malacarne.

Pieter Weening climbed to victory at Sestola
Pieter Weening climbed to victory at Sestola

The pair were the last survivors of a long breakaway as they scaled the final climb to Sestola together, with Dutchman Weening out-sprinting the Europcar rider over the last 200 metres.

Behind, AG2R Mondiale's Italian rider Domenico Pozzovivo attacked the peloton on the final climb and came home in third, taking almost 30 seconds out of his general classification rivals to move up to fourth in the overall standings, one minute 20 seconds behind maglia rosa Cadel Evans.

Weening and Malacarne were part of a 14-man breakaway who went up the road early in the 172km stage and opened up a lead which reached eight minutes.

The peloton brought it back before the foot of the final climb but showed little interest in chasing them down entirely, and the breakaway began to splinter with stage honours on the line.

Weening launched the first serious attack with Malacarne the only man able to catch him and they worked together before fighting it out over the final half kilometre.

Orica GreenEdge won the opening team time trial in Belfast to give veteran Svein Tuft the pink jersey on his birthday, and their sprinter Michael Matthews wore the maglia rosa throughout the opening week before surrendering it to Evans after Saturday's stage eight.

The riders will now enjoy a rest day on Monday before stage 10 takes them to Salsomaggiore on Tuesday.

Stage nine result

1 Pieter Weening (Ned) Orica-GreenEdge, 4:25:51
2 Davide Malacarne (Ita) Europcar, same time
3 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +42
4 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida, +1:08
5 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step, st
6 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin, st
7 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, st
8 Dario Cataldo (Ita) team Sky, st
9 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo, st
10 Fabio Duarte (Col) Colombia, st

General classification

1 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, 38:49:34
2 Rigoberto Uran (Col) ) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, +57secs
3 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo, +1:10
4 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +1:10
5 Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC, +1:31
6 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +1:39
7 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida, +1:43
8 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin, +1:44
9 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, +1:45
10 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Trek Factory Racing, +1:49