Taylor to face Szabo or Moss

  • Last Updated: December 2 2013, 13:01 GMT

Reigning champion Phil Taylor will face Rob Szabo or Ian Moss in the first round of the 2014 World Darts Championship.

Phil Taylor: Chasing a 17th world crown
Phil Taylor: Chasing a 17th world crown

  • Related Content

Taylor will be aiming for a 17th World crown when the tournament gets under way at Alexandra Palace on 13 December.

Last year's beaten finalist, Dutchman Michael van Gerwen, will play either Zoran Lerchbacher of Austria or England's Ben Ward.

In other ties, third seed Adrian Lewis plays Dennis Smith, Simon Whitlock takes on Ross Smith and Raymond van Barneveld faces Jamie Lewis.

Belgian brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts will compete against each other for a place in the second round.


Preliminary Round

Rob Szabo v Ian Moss

Devon Petersen v Mohammed Latif Sapup

Gino Vos v Ting Chi Royden Lam

Zoran Lerchbacher v Ben Ward

Dennis Lindskjold v Edward Santos

Morihiro Hashimoto v Paul Lim

Colin McGarry v Per Laursen

Julio Barbero v Andree Welge

First Round Draw and Tournament Bracket

(Seeds in brackets)

(1) Phil Taylor v Rob Szabo/Ian Moss

(32) Michael Smith v Morihiro Hashimoto/Paul Lim

(16) Peter Wright v Joe Cullen

(17) Terry Jenkins v Colin McGarry/Per Laursen

(8) Wes Newton v Gino Vos/Ting Chi Royden Lam

(25) John Part v Mareno Michels

(9) Robert Thornton v Max Hopp

(24) Colin Lloyd v Beau Anderson

(5) Andy Hamilton v Julio Barbero/Andree Welge

(28) Richie Burnett v Dean Winstanley

(12) Kim Huybrechts v Ronny Huybrechts

(21) Ian White v Kyle Anders! on

(4) Simon Whitlock v Ross Smith

(29) Mark Walsh v Jarkko Komula

(13) Kevin Painter v Tomas Seyler

(20) Paul Nicholson v Stuart Kellett

(2) Michael van Gerwen v Lerchbacher/Ward

(31) Wayne Jones v Kevin McDine

(15) Brendan Dolan v Dennis Lindskjold/Edward Santos

(18) Gary Anderson v Mark Dudbridge

(7) Dave Chisnall v John Henderson

(26) Mark Webster v Mensur Suljovic

(10) Raymond van Barneveld v Jamie Lewis

(23) Jamie Caven v Jelle Klaasen

(6) James Wade v Darren Webster

(27) Andy Smith v Steve Brown

(11) Justin Pipe v Arron Monk

(22) Steve Beaton v Devon Petersen/Mohammed Latif Sapup

(3) Adrian Lewis v Dennis Smith

(30) Vincent van der Voort v Matt Clark

(14) Mervyn King v Darin Young

(19) Ronnie Baxter v Ricky Evans

New Sky Bet customers: Claim free £5 bet every week