Mark Cavendish wins again

  • Last Updated: February 6 2013, 16:51 GMT

Mark Cavendish has claimed back-to-back stage wins and the overall lead at the Tour of Qatar.

Mark Cavendish enjoys his victory on Wednesday.
Mark Cavendish enjoys his victory on Wednesday.

The Omega Pharma-QuickStep rider won the 160km route from Camel Race Track to Al Khor Corniche, which is the longest of the race.

The 27-year-old from the Isle of Man, who quit Team Sky late last year, beat Holland's Barry Markus and Italian Andrea Guardini in the battle of the sprinters to claim the Golden Jersey after the peloton reeled in the leading breakaway group by 146kms.

Cavendish stayed clear of a crash in the closing stages to cross ahead of Vacansoleil-Dcm racer Markus with Astana Pro Team's Guardini in third.

The victory, and the accompanying 10-second time bonus, saw Cavendish take the overall lead by two seconds from American Brent Bookwalter of BMC Racing.

The fifth stage of the Tour of Qatar runs over 154km from Al Zubara Fort to Madinat Al Shamal.

Cavendish felt his results in Qatar back up the decision to part company with Team Sky, who helped drive Bradley Wiggins on to success at the Tour de France.

"I am really, really happy right now. Three wins already, shows me, and shows [team manager] Patrick Lefevere, that I made the right move to Omega Pharma-Quick-Step," Cavendish said.

"I get along really well with the guys already, and we have a good ambience with the team.

"I hope this can continue and we can keep getting good results this year."

Leading positions after Stage 4 (Camel Race Track-Al Khor Corniche 160km): 1 Mark Cavendish (Gbr) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 3hrs 03mins 05secs, 2 Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team, 3 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana Pro Team, 4 Filippo Fortin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox, 5 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha, 6 Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff, 7 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ, 8 Aidis Kruopis (Lit) Orica-GreenEdge, 9 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling, 10 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Ag2R La Mondiale all at same time

General classification after stage 4: 1 Mark Cavendish (Gbr) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 10hrs 20mins 01secs, 2 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team at 0.02secs, 3 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team at 0.08, 4 Adam Blythe (Gbr) BMC Racing Team at 0.09, 5 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team at 0.12, 6 Michael Schar (Swi) BMC Racing Team at same time, 7 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling at 0.13, 8 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Procycling at 0.14, 9 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling at 0.16, 10 Geraint Thomas (Gbr) Sky Procycling at 0.17

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week