Early Open start for Woods

  • Last Updated: July 14 2014, 12:43 BST

Tiger Woods will not have to wait too long to make his competitive return to Hoylake in the 143rd Open Championship, which gets under way on Thursday.

Tiger Woods: Will tee off at 0904 BST on Thursday at Hoylake
Tiger Woods: Will tee off at 0904 BST on Thursday at Hoylake

Woods, who claimed his third Claret Jug the last time the Open was staged at Hoylake in 2006, will start his first round at 9:04am alongside Argentina's Angel Cabrera and Sweden's Henrik Stenson.

After missing the first two majors of the year following back surgery, Woods returned to action in the Quicken Loans National at the end of June, although he missed the halfway cut at Congressional.

The 14-time major winner has not played competitively since, but completed 12 holes in practice on Saturday and a full round on Sunday and was in buoyant mood.

"I can do whatever I want. I'm at that point now," the 38-year-old said of his recovery from surgery on March 31. "We didn't think we'd get to that point until this tournament or the week after.

"Before I had the procedure, I was at the point I couldn't do anything. This is how I used to feel. I had been playing with [the back injury] for a while and I had my good weeks and bad weeks. Now they are all good."

Double Open champion Padraig Harrington is in the group after Woods along with 2011 Masters winner Charl Schwartzel and Korea's KJ Choi, with former world number one Rory McIlroy next out with American Jordan Spieth and Japan's Hideki Matsuyama.

Phil Mickelson gets the defence of his title under way at 2:05pm in the company of 2012 winner Ernie Els and current Masters champion Bubba Watson, with Scottish Open winner Justin Rose out two groups later with world number one Adam Scott and former US PGA champion Jason Dufner.

US Open champion Martin Kaymer begins his bid for a second major of the year at 1:38pm alongside Australian Jason Day and former Masters champion Zach Johnson.

England's David Howell has the honour of hitting the opening tee shot at 6:25am, with 2001 champion David Duval and Sweden's Robert Karlsson making up the first group.

The final group does not tee off until almost 10 hours later, England's Christopher Rodgers, Scotland's Scott Jamieson and Korea's An Byeong-hun getting their challenge under way at 4:06pm.

Open Championship first round tee times in full (USA unless stated, all times BST):

(x) denotes amateurs

0625 David Duval, David Howell (Eng), Robert Karlsson (Swe)

0636 Dawie Van Der Walt (Rsa), Cameron Tringale, Masanori Kobayashi (Jpn)

0647 Chris Wood (Eng), Matthew Jones (Aus), Bernd Wiesberger (Aut)

0658 Hyung-sung Kim (Kor), Erik Compton, Marc Leishman (Aus)

0709 Koumei Oda (Jpn), Ben Martin, Anirban Lahiri (Ind)

0720 Brooks Koepka, Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha), Edoardo Molinari (Ita)

0731 Fredrik Jacobson (Swe), Branden Grace (Rsa), Ashley Chesters (Eng)

0742 Justin Leonard, Ben Curtis, Paul Lawrie (Sco)

0753 Ryan Moore, Francesco Molinari (Ita), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)

0804 Matteo Manassero (Ita), Bradley Neil (Sco), Mikko Ilonen (Fin)

0815 Thomas Bjorn (Den), Patrick Reed, Stewart Cink

0826 Tom Watson, Jim Furyk, Darren Clarke (Nirl)

0837 Luke Donald (Eng), Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia (Spa)

0853 Paul Casey (Eng), Harris English, Matthew Every

0904 Tiger Woods, Angel Cabrera (Arg), Henrik Stenson (Swe)

0915 Charl Schwartzel (Rsa), Padraig Harrington (Irl), K J Choi (Kor)

0926 Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Rory McIlroy (Nirl), Jordan Spieth

0937 Ian Poulter (Eng), Dustin Johnson, Jimmy Walker

0948 Matt Kuchar, Graeme McDowell (Nirl), Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa)

0959 Hunter Mahan, Stephen Gallacher (Sco), Victor Dubuisson (Fra)

1010 Sir Nick Faldo (Eng), Todd Hamilton, Mark Calcavecchia

1021 Brett Rumford (Aus), Ryan Palmer, Tomohiro Kondo (Jpn)

1032 John Singleton (Eng), Peter Uihlein, Marc Warren (Sco)

1043 Paul Mckechnie (Sco), Kristoffer Broberg (Swe), Juvic Pagunsan (Phi)

1054 Rhein Gibson (Aus), Brian Harman, Hyung-tae Kim (Jpn)

1105 Oscar Floren (Swe), Chris Hanson (Eng), Yoshinobu Tsukada (Jpn)

1126 Matthew Southgate (Eng), James Mcleary (Sco), Hiroshi Iwata (Jpn)

1137 Roberto Castro, Victor Riu (Fra), Tyrrell Hatton (Eng)

1148 Dong-kyu Jang (Kor), Nick Watney, Shawn Stefani

1159 Y.E. Yang (Kor), D.A. Points, Brendan Steele

1210 Scott Stallings, Pablo Larrazabal (Spa), Bryden Macpherson (Aus)

1221 Charley Hoffman, George Coetzee (Rsa), Michael Hoey (Nirl)

1232 Brendon De Jonge (Zim), Kevin Streelman, Brendon Todd

1243 Gary Woodland, Sandy Lyle (Sco), Kevin Stadler

1254 Graham Delaet (Can), Brandt Snedeker, Cheng-tsung Pan (Chn)

1305 Boo Weekley, Danny Willett (Eng), Ashun Wu (Chn)

1316 J.B. Holmes, Jonas Blixt (Swe), Chris Kirk

1327 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Bill Haas, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)

1338 Jason Day (Aus), Martin Kaymer (Ger), Zach Johnson

1354 Jamie Donaldson (Wal), Webb Simpson, Yusaku Miyazato (Jpn)

1405 Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els (Rsa), Bubba Watson

1416 Russell Henley, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Spa), Billy Horschel

1427 Adam Scott (Aus), Justin Rose (Eng), Jason Dufner

1438 Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn), Lee Westwood (Eng), Keegan Bradley

1449 Kevin Na, Joost Luiten (Ned), John Senden (Aus)

1500 John Daly, Tommy Fleetwood (Eng), Ross Fisher (Eng)

1511 Rafael Cabrera Bello (Spa), Mark Wiebe, Paul Dunne (Irl)

1522 Oliver Fisher (Eng), Chesson Hadley, Shane Lowry (Irl)

1533 Richard Sterne (Rsa), George McNeill, Chris Stroud

1544 Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Jin Jeong (Kor), Matthew Baldwin (Eng)

1555 Justin Walters (Rsa), Rhys Enoch (Wal), Billy Hurley III

1606 Chris Rodgers (Eng), Scott Jamieson (Sco), Byeong-Hun An (Kor)