Woods, Mickelson paired in USPGA

  • Last Updated: August 2 2014, 15:50 BST

Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will play together in the first two rounds of next week's USPGA Championship at Valhalla.

Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will play their first two rounds together
Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will play their first two rounds together

The American pair, who have won 19 major titles between them, will begin their challenge for the year's last major at 8:35am local time on Thursday, alongside 2008 champion Padraig Harrington.

In keeping with tradition, the PGA of America has placed the winners of the first three major championships of 2014 in the same group, with Bubba Watson, Martin Kaymer and Rory McIlroy teeing off at 1:45pm on Thursday.

Defending champion Jason Dufner has been drawn with the man he lost to in a play-off in 2011, fellow American Keegan Bradley, along with 2009 winner YE Yang. They tee off at 1:55pm on Thursday.

Dustin Johnson's withdrawal to deal with "personal challenges" means 99 of the world's top 100 are set to compete for the Wanamaker Trophy at Valhalla, which at 7,458 yards is the longest par-71 in the tournament's history. The longest par-71 in any major was the 2008 US Open at Torrey Pines, where the course measured 7,643 yards.

Round one tee times (all times local, BST is +5hrs):

Starting at hole 1

0710 Bryce Molder, Kevin Chappell, Brian Stuard

0720 Jeff Maggert, Aaron Baddeley (Au), James Driscoll

0730 Jhonattan Vegas (Ve), Lucas Glover, Robert Allenby (Au)

0740 Carl Pettersson (Se), Kyle Stanley, Stewart Cink

0750 Alex Aragon, Derek Ernst, John Huh

0800 Ben Curtis, Geoff Ogilvy (Au), Vijay Singh (Fj)

0810 Josh Teater, Brendan Steele, Jason Kokrak

0820 Troy Matteson, Brian Davis (En), Jeff Overton

0830 Billy Hurley III, Andrew Svoboda, Bronson La'cassie (Au)

0840 Robert Streb, Hudson Swafford, Justin Thomas

0850 Troy Merritt, Jim Renner, Chris Williams (Za)

1150 Chad Campbell, Jason Gore, Daniel Summerhays

1200 Fred Funk, Camilo Villegas (Co), Erik Compton

1210 Y.E. Yang (Kr), J J Henry, Scott Verplank

1220 Marc Leishman (Au), Angel Cabrera (Ar), Charles Howell III

1230 Mike Weir (Ca), Davis Love III, Hideki Matsuyama (Jp)

1240 Chez Reavie, Ben Crane, Spencer Levin

1250 Cameron Beckman, John Senden (Au), Justin Hicks

1300 Charlie Wi (Kr), John Rollins, Jim Herman

1310 Ryo Ishikawa (Jp), Bud Cauley, Jamie Lovemark

1320 Edward Loar, Brice Garnett, Brooks Koepka

1330 Bobby Gates, Seung-yul Noh (Kr), Andres Gonzales Starting at hole 10

0710 Luke Guthrie, Nicholas Thompson, Scott Langley

0720 Pat Perez, Jose Coceres (Ar), Blake Adams

0730 George McNeill, Ted Potter, Jr., Kevin Na

0740 Gary Woodland, Jonas Blixt (Se), Billy Horschel

0750 Patrick Reed, Charlie Beljan, Tommy Gainey

0800 Sean O'Hair, Rocco Mediate, Trevor Immelman (Za)

0810 Steven Bowditch (Au), Stephen Ames (Ca), Morgan Hoffmann

0820 Paul Goydos, Jason Bohn, Tim Wilkinson (Nz)

0830 Michael Putnam, John Peterson, Chesson Hadley

0840 Andrew Loupe, Danny Lee (Nz), Peter Malnati

0850 Chad Collins, Russell Knox (Ld), Mark Hubbard

1150 Briny Baird, Heath Slocum, Ricky Barnes

1200 Jimmy Walker, David Hearn (Ca), Brian Harman

1210 Freddie Jacobson (Se), Johnson Wagner, Retief Goosen (Za)

1220 Scott Brown, Stuart Appleby (Au), Justin Leonard

1230 Brian Gay, Rory Sabbatini (Za), Tim Clark (Za)

1240 Will MacKenzie, Jerry Kelly, William McGirt

1250 Robert Garrigus, Chris Stroud, Cameron Tringale

1300 Brad Fritsch (Ca), Tyrone Van Aswegen (Za), Max Homa

1310 Doug LaBelle II, Brendon Todd, Kevin Tway

1320 Scott Gardiner (Au), Lee Williams, Ben Martin

1330 Will Claxton, Kevin Kisner, David Carr