Guyatt leads but duo well placed

  • Last Updated: November 15 2012, 8:17 GMT

Queenslander Matthew Guyatt upstaged his more fancied rivals to claim the outright lead after the opening day of the Australian Masters in Melbourne, but tournament drawcards Adam Scott and Ian Poulter are just two shots back.

Ian Poulter: Shares second place

Guyatt opened up his advantage after posting a superb seven-under 65 with Scott and Poulter sharing second place with Kiwi Michael Hendry on five under after solid opening rounds.

There is a group of six players - led by Australian duo Peter O'Malley and Paul Gow - a further shot adrift at four under, while Northern Irishman Graeme McDowell could only manage a 71 to be tied for 20th.

But the day belonged to Guyatt, who had a hot putter throughout his round and only narrowly missed the course record of 64 held jointly by Anthony Painter (1994), Robert Allenby (2000) and Kurt Barnes (2010) by one shot.

The 37-year-old strung together a trio of birdies in his opening nine to make the turn at minus three and then picked up another shot at the easy par-five first - his 10th - to move within one stroke of Scott in the clubhouse lead.

Guyatt then made another three consecutive birdies to take the outright lead, with the pick of those being at the eighth, where he rolled in a putt from over 20 feet to move to seven under.

Scott was out bright and early and managed to make six birdies - including five in seven holes on his second nine - and dropped just the one shot.

It was a case of what could have been for Scott, with the 32-year-old excellent from tee to green, but often let down at the final hurdle by his renowned broomstick putter.

The same can arguably be said for Poulter, with the Englishman looking just at home at Kingston Heath as he did when he won at the Victoria Golf Club last year.

Poulter picked up six birdies on the sandbelt course, with a dropped shot at the par-four 16th the only blemish on his card as he attempts to become just the second man after Greg Norman to defend his Masters title.

McDowell seemingly couldn't get anything going during his round, with the world number 24 able to make just two birdies in good scoring conditions during the morning.

Collated first round scores (Gbr & Irl unless stated, par 72):

65 Matthew Guyatt (Aus)

67 Adam Scott (Aus), Michael Hendry (Nzl), Ian Poulter

68 Paul Gow (Aus), Jake Higginbottom (Aus), Craig Hancock (Aus), Kalem Richardson (Aus), Rika Batibasaga (Aus), Peter O'Malley (Aus)

69 Mahal Pearce (Nzl), Brody Ninyette (Aus), Rohan Blizard (Aus)

70 Chris Campbell (Aus), Jared Pender (Nzl), Cameron Smith (Aus), Craig Scott (Aus), Alex Hawley (Aus), Michael Foster (Aus)

71 Graeme McDowell, Stephen Leaney (Aus), Jason Scrivener (Aus), Jason Norris (Aus), Tarquin Macmanus (Aus), Deyen Lawson (Aus), Gareth Paddison (Nzl), Luke Paroz (Aus), Nathan Holman (Aus), Oliver Goss (Aus), Craig Parry (Aus), Richard Green (Aus), David Bransdon (Aus), Kim Felton (Aus), Stuart Appleby (Aus)

72 Nick Gillespie (Nzl), Andrew Martin (Aus), Chris Gaunt (Aus), Andrew Tschudin (Aus), Doug Holloway (Nzl), Brad Shilton (Nzl), Brett Rankin (Aus), Peter Wilson (Aus), James Carr (Aus), Ryan Haller (Aus), Matthew Giles (Aus), Mark Brown (Nzl), Thomas Petersson (Swe), Adam Crawford (Aus), Robert Allenby (Aus), Matthew Stieger (Aus), Anthony Brown (Aus)

73 James Mclean (Aus), Andrew Kelly (Aus), Corey Hale (Aus), David Mckendrick (USA), Ben Wharton (Aus), Michael Long (Nzl), Matthew Millar (Aus), Andre Stolz (Aus), Bradley Hughes (Aus), Peter Nolan (Aus), Ryan Fox (Nzl), Marcus Cain (Aus), Terry Pilkadaris (Aus), Todd Sinnot (Aus), Ewan Porter (Aus), Alistair Presnell (Aus), Pieter Zwart (Aus), Craig Hasthorpe (Aus)

74 Max Mccardle (Aus), Daniel Popovic (Aus), Kurt Carlson (Aus), Daniel Fox (Aus), Brandon Smith (USA), Peter Senior (Aus), Michael Wright (Aus), Tristan Lambert (Aus), Josh Younger (Aus), Ben Campbell (Nzl), Ryan Lynch (Aus), Leigh Mckechnie (Aus), Bronson La'cassie (Aus)

75 Scott Laycock (Aus), Ian Esson (Aus), Andrew Evans (Aus), Aaron Pike (Aus), Brad Lamb (Aus), Adam Bland (Aus), Clint Rice (Aus), Stephen Dartnell (Aus), Ryan Hammond (Aus), Grant Thomas (Aus)

76 Andrew Tampion (Aus), Henry Epstein (Aus), Hamish Robertson (Nzl), Mitchell Brown (Aus), Peter Cooke (Aus), Heath Reed (Aus)

77 Paul Spargo (Aus), Chris Wood, Ryan Mccarthy (Aus), Brent McCullough (Aus), Kristopher Mueck (Aus), Matt Jager (Aus), Damon Welsford (Aus), Matt Ballard (Aus), Brad McIntosh (Aus), Michael Curtain (Aus)

78 Troy Kennedy (Aus), Aaron Townsend (Aus), Kevin Smith (Aus), Leigh Deagan (Aus), Quinton Howe (Aus), Steven Jones (Aus), Terry Price (Aus)

79 Glenn Joyner (Aus), Sven Puymbroeck (Nzl), Tim Wood (Aus)

83 Nathan Park (Aus)

DQ: 72 John Wade (Aus)

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week