Larrazabal has the edge

  • Last Updated: July 26 2012, 17:09 BST

Spain's Pablo Larrazabal played a flawless round to take a one-shot lead on the opening day of the Lyoness Open in Aztenbrugg, Austria.

Pablo Larrazabal: Flawless round

Larrazabal fired four birdies and an eagle on the par-five 13th in his first nine holes at Diamond Country Club, before adding two more birdies for a round of eight-under 64.

"I hit the ball very well and gave myself a lot of chances - I made a few and I'm very happy to finally make some putts," Larrazabal said on

"I've been playing a lot like today but the putts didn't drop and today they did so I'm very happy."

A lengthy rain break of almost four hours failed to knock the 29-year-old Larrazabal off his stride, although other players were unable to complete their opening rounds after bad light suspended play.

Thorbjorn Olesen is one of those players. He lay one shot off the lead through 14 holes before play was halted.

The Dane has already carded seven birdies and will be hoping to add to that when he completes his round tomorrow morning.

Thomas Levet had also completed 14 holes by the end of the day and lay in a tie for third place with Wil Besseling, with the pair two shots off the leader.

Frenchman Levet has seven birdies and one bogey to his name so far, while Besseling of Holland had completed 13 holes with six birdies.

England Anthony Wall was five under through 13 holes with four players - including Scotland's Alastair Forsyth - tied on four under.

Latest first-round scores, Diamond CC, Atzenbrugg, Austria

(Gbr & Irl unless stated, par 72):

(Round one suspended due to darkness, play will resume at 0730 local time. 69 players still to finish their first round)

64 Pablo Larrazabal (Spa)

68 Oliver Wilson, Alastair Forsyth

69 Niclas Fasth (Swe)

70 Joakim Haeggman (Swe), Joel Sjoholm (Swe), Stephen Dodd, Shane Lowry, Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Peter Hedblom (Swe), Rikard Karlberg (Swe)

71 Damien McGrane, Chris Wood, Alessandro Tadini (Ita), Steven O'Hara, Lorenzo Gagli (Ita), Sam Little, Christoph Pfau (Aut)

72 Gary Orr, Magnus A Carlsson (Swe), Shiv Kapur (Ind), Guillaume Cambis (Fra), James Byrne, Lloyd Kennedy, Sam Hutsby, Stephen Gallacher, Romain Wattel (Fra), Andrew Marshall, Hamza Amin (Aut), Miles Tunnicliff, Dylan Frittelli (Rsa), Benjamin Hebert (Fra)

73 Jamie Moul, Eduardo De La Riva (Spa), Ignacio Garrido (Spa), Maarten Lafeber (Ned), Simon Thornton, Markus Maukner (Aut), Christopher Doak, Ross McGowan

74 Tjaart Van Der Walt (Rsa), Christian Nilsson (Swe), Roland Steiner (Aut), Steven Jeppesen (Swe), Tyrone Ferreira (Rsa)

75 Yevgeni Kafelnikov (Rus), Alan Dunbar, Andy Sullivan, Lukas Nemecz (Aut), Julien Guerrier (Fra), Reinier Saxton (Ned)

76 Markus Brier (Aut), Jorge Campillo (Spa), Tim Sluiter (Ned), Jason Knutzon (USA)

77 Michiel Bothma (Rsa), Federico Colombo (Ita), Florian Pogatschnigg (Aut), Matthias Schwab (Aut)

78 Alex Haindl (Rsa), Andre Bossert (Swi), Jurgen Maurer (Aut), Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swe), Jose Manuel Lara (Spa)

79 Andrew Johnston, Jamie Elson, Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (Fra), Peter Whiteford, Edouard Dubois (Fra)

80 Raul Quiros (Spa), Oskar Henningsson (Swe)

81 Adam Gee

82 Roope Kakko (Fin)

90 Petr Gal (Cze)

RTD: Brian Pavlet (Aus)