Magnus Carlsson has the Edge

  • Last Updated: June 7 2012, 16:02 BST

Magnus Carlsson produced a stunning round of 65 to open up a two-shot lead on day one of the Nordea Masters in Stockholm.

Magnus Carlsson: Has a two-shot lead

The 31-year-old sank eight birdies to go round the course in seven under, although his mood was dampened slightly by a bogey on the last hole.

Carlsson was one of four Swedes on the leaderboard at Bro Hof as the local favourites made the most of home advantage.

Peter Hanson was in a group of four players tied for second on five under, with five birdies sitting alongside a single bogey on his card.

England's Richard Bland, the early clubhouse leader, also completed his round in 67, mixing eight birdies with a bogey and a double bogey on the par-five 13th.

"To shoot five under round this course at anytime is good," said Bland, ranked 661 in the world, on

"I had a bit of an up and down start but I kicked it into gear around the turn which made the day really.

"I played the front nine, which was my back nine, pretty solidly, so the game's in pretty good shape."

Bland's compatriot Matthew Baldwin also put on a solid display of six birdies and a bogey to finish the day five under, along with Spain's Ignacio Garrido.

World number three Lee Westwood led a group of eight players on four under, alongside Swedish pair Michael Jonzon and Robin Wingardh.

The Worksop golfer made a flying start with birdies at the first, second and fifth, adding another shot on the par-three 11th.

He then bogeyed the 14th but sank another birdie on the final hole to shot a four-under 68.

Spaniard Sergio Garcia carded a round of 69, one better than England's Ross Fisher who signed for a two-under 70 with birdies at the first and 13th.

Fisher missed out on the Wales Open title last weekend after being hit with a one-stroke penalty and £6,000 fine for slow play when only one off the lead with four holes to play.

Defending champion Alex Noren was in the same starting group as Westwood but had to settle for a two-over 74 today.

Collated first round scores , Bro Hoff SlottGC, Stockholm, Sweden(Gbr & Irl unless stated, par 72):

65 Magnus A Carlsson (Swe)

67 Peter Hanson (Swe), Richard Bland, Matthew Baldwin, Ignacio Garrido (Spa)

68 Carlos Del Moral (Spa), Emiliano Grillo (Arg), Andy Sullivan, Daniel Denison, Michael Jonzon (Swe), Robin Wingardh (Swe), Alejandro Canizares (Spa), Lee Westwood

69 Sergio Garcia (Spa), Pelle Edberg (Swe), Jaco Van Zyl (Rsa), Anthony Wall, Felipe Aguilar (Chi), Brett Rumford (Aus), Niclas Fasth (Swe), Bernd Wiesberger (Aut), Richard Sterne (Rsa)

70 Roope Kakko (Fin), Mikko Ilonen (Fin), Ross Fisher, Estanislao Goya (Arg), Joakim Lagergren (Swe), Julien Guerrier (Fra), David Lynn, Darren Fichardt (Rsa), Joel Sjoholm (Swe), Andrea Pavan (Ita), Tim Sluiter (Ned), Reinier Saxton (Ned), Mark Foster, Gregory Havret (Fra), Michael Hoey

71 Pablo Larrazabal (Spa), Shane Lowry, Rafael Cabrera Bello (Spa), Chris Wood, Peter Whiteford, Daniel Gaunt (Aus), Kristoffer Broberg (Swe), Matthew Nixon, Richard McEvoy, Scott Strange (Aus), Phillip Price, Andrew Dodt (Aus), Maarten Lafeber (Ned), Lloyd Saltman, Niklas Bruzelius (Swe), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)

72 Joakim Haeggman (Swe), Robert Jan Derksen (Ned), Chris Gane, Alvaro Velasco (Spa), Gary Orr, Lloyd Kennedy, Peter Hedblom (Swe), Johan Edfors (Swe), Robert Karlsson (Swe), Wil Besseling (Ned), Tommy Fleetwood, Adrian Otaegui (Spa), Marcus Fraser (Aus), Edoardo Molinari (Ita), Craig Lee, Christian Nilsson (Swe), Shiv Kapur (Ind), David Howell, David Horsey, Rhys Davies, Jason Knutzon (USA), Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Tjaart Van Der Walt (Rsa), David McKenzie (Aus), Romain Wattel (Fra), Taco Remkes (Ned), Richard Green (Aus), Jamie Donaldson

73 Jesper Kennegard (Swe), Graeme Storm, Scott Jamieson, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha), Jamie Elson, Scott Hend (Aus), Jordi Garcia (Spa), Alessandro Tadini (Ita), Federico Colombo (Ita), Benjamin Hebert (Fra), Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind), Lucas Bjerregaard (Den), Rikard Karlberg (Swe), Jonas Blixt (Swe), Adrien Bernadet (Fra), Mark F Haastrup (Den), Andrew Marshall, Lorenzo Gagli (Ita)

74 Andrew Johnston, Scott Pinckney (USA), Steven O'Hara, Jose Manuel Lara (Spa), Alexander Noren (Swe), Alastair Forsyth, Victor Riu (Fra), Miles Tunnicliff, Simon Thornton, Hennie Otto (Rsa), Steve Webster, Adam Gee, Guillaume Cambis (Fra), Niklas Lemke (Swe), Augustin Domingo (Spa), Gareth Maybin, David Lingmerth (Swe), Jeff Karlsson (Swe), Richard S Johnson (Swe)

75 Alex Haindl (Rsa), Damien McGrane, Hans Peter Bacher (Aut), Jarmo Sandelin (Swe), Edouard Dubois (Fra), Kenneth Ferrie, Anthony Snobeck (Fra), Sam Hutsby, Charles-edouard Russo (Fra), Pablo Martin (Spa), Bernd Ritthammer (Ger)

76 Niclas Carlsson (Swe), David Dixon, Knut Borsheim (Nor), Oliver Wilson, Jorge Campillo (Spa), Jens Dantorp (Swe), Sam Little, Bradley Dredge, Oscar Floren (Swe)

77 Gavin Samuels, Jamie Moul, Viktor Edin (Swe), Peter Gustafsson (Swe), Mathias Gronberg (Swe), Warren Abery (Rsa), Raymond Russell, Simon Wakefield, Bjorn Hellgren (Swe)

78 Mikael Lundberg (Swe), Sam Walker, Martin Erlandsson (Swe)

79 Thomas Norret (Den), Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swe)

80 Pontus Widegren (Swe), Oskar Henningsson (Swe), Matthew Southgate

81 Oliver Fisher