Phoenix Open

  • TPC Scottsdale Scottsdale, Arizona January 31st - February 3rd
  • Par: 71


Round 4 Concluded

22°C     C
  • Last Updated: Monday February 4 2013, 18:44 GMT

Phil Mickelson has won the Phoenix Open for the third time in his decorated career.

Mickelson: Impressive victory
Mickelson: Impressive victory

The four-time major winner completed a wire-to-wire success on 28 under - the second-lowest total ever in a 72-hole tournament on the PGA Tour.

That was good enough to secure victory by four strokes from fellow American Brandt Snedeker, whose final-day 65 ensured Mickelson was never able to feel completely comfortable until the end.

The left-hander held his nerve, however, to secure a 41st PGA Tour title with a putt from inches away.

Mickelson had the chance to break Mark Calcavecchia's tournament record with a long-range putt on the final green, but instead was happy to roll it close enough to complete a final-round 67.

His victory also ensures Mickelson has now won a title for a record 10 consecutive years.

Mickelson, whose last title came nearly a year ago, told the Golf Channel: "It's an important one for me, because it's been a while since I won, been a while since I've been in contention.

"I was certainly nervous heading into today's final round.

"I think the thing I'm most excited about was the way I was able to regain control of my thoughts after a few shots early on that I didn't care for and come back and hit a number of good shots on the back nine to do what I needed to do to win."

Snedeker gamely kept up his pursuit, producing seven birdies, but by the time he dropped his only shot of the round on the 18th, the game was up.

Scott Piercy, meanwhile, produced a best-of-the-day 10-under 61 to finish third on 23 under, a shot behind Snedeker.

There was disappointment for three-time major winner Padraig Harrington, who could only manage a one-under 70 and finished in a share of ninth on 17 under.

Kyle Stanley, the 2012 champion, was level par overall to finish dead last of 74 men who made the cut.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week