F1 calendar has 20 races

  • Last Updated: December 5 2012, 15:58 GMT

The 2013 Formula One calendar could again stretch to 20 races in the wake of Wednesday's final meeting this year of the World Motor Sport Council.

Formula One could return to Turkey.

With the removal of the Grand Prix of America in New Jersey until 2014 due to financial and construction difficulties, it appeared the calendar for next season would revert back to 19 races following the record 20 this campaign.

However, the WMSC has opted to switch the German GP - which still does not have a confirmed venue - from July 14 to July 7, and which will now be back to back with the British GP at Silverstone.

In doing so, they have created a vacancy for July 21, which the WMSC state "has been reserved for another F1 European event, subject to the approval of the relevant ASNs (National Sporting Authority)".

F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone is known to be in discussions with the new owners of the Istanbul Park in the hope of restoring the Turkish Grand Prix to the calendar, with the likelihood now next year.

That race would also form a double-header with the Hungarian Grand Prix on July 28 ahead of a four-week summer break across August.

2013 Formula 1 calendar:

Mar 17 Australia
Mar 24 Malaysia
Apr 14 China
Apr 21 Bahrain
May 12 Spain
May 26 Monaco
Jun 9 Canada
Jun 30 Britain
Jul 7 Germany
Jul 21 TBC
Jul 28 Hungary
Aug 25 Belgium
Sep 8 Italy
Sep 22 Singapore
Oct 6 Korea
Oct 13 Japan
Oct 27 India
Nov 3 Abu Dhabi
Nov 17 United States
Nov 24 Brazil

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week