No FA charge for McManaman

  • Last Updated: March 19 2013, 17:45 GMT

Wigan's Callum McManaman will face no FA charge for his horror challenge on Newcastle's Massadio Haidara.

No FA charge for McManaman

The FA confirmed in a statement that no retrospective action could be taken as at least one of the match officials had seen the "coming together" during Wigan's 2-1 victory at the DW Stadium on Sunday even though referee Mark Halsey was unsighted.

Haidara suffered potentially serious knee ligament damage after the challenge by 21-year-old McManaman, but no action was taken against the Wigan player during the match.

The FA statement read: "The FA can confirm that no action can be taken against Wigan Athletic's Callum McManaman retrospectively following his side's game against Newcastle United on Sunday 17 March 2013.

"Following consultation with the game's stakeholders (the Premier League, the Football League, the Professional Footballers' Association, the League Managers' Association, Professional Game Match Officials Limited and the National Game) in the summer, it was agreed that retrospective action should only be taken in respect of incidents which have not been seen by the match officials.

"Where one of the officials has seen a coming together of players, no retrospective action should be taken, regardless of whether he or she witnessed the full or particular nature of the challenge. This is to avoid the re-refereeing of incidents.

"In the case of McManaman, it has been confirmed that at least one of the match officials saw the coming together, though not the full extent of the challenge. In these circumstances retrospective action cannot be taken.

"The principal objective behind the not seen policy is to address off the ball incidents where match officials are unlikely to be in a position to witness misconduct."

Newcastle managing director Derek Llambias registered his disappointment at the decision, saying in a statement on the club website: "We are disappointed to learn that the FA is not going to charge the Wigan player. We were first notified of this decision by a national media outlet who received notification from the FA confirming the decision. This was prior to anyone from the FA having the courtesy to contact the Club to let us know.

"It is clear from this decision that the current disciplinary procedures are not fit for purpose.

"Newcastle United, along with other clubs, have had players suspended for incidents reviewed after the game. Whilst not trivialising these incidents, they were not, in our opinion, of the seriousness of Callum McManaman's tackle on Haidara."


Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week