England U17s crowned champions

  • Last Updated: May 21 2014, 21:12 BST

England Under-17s have been crowned European champions after beating the Netherlands in a penalty shoot-out in the final.

England under 17's celebrates with the trophy
England under 17's celebrates with the trophy

Chelsea's Dominic Solanke scored England's goal as the match finished 1-1 in normal time in Malta, and Everton's Jonjoe Kenny scored the winning penalty as England claimed the title they last won back in 2010.

Solanke struck on 25 minutes but Jari Schuurman levelled it just before half-time.

With no extra-time played at this level, the final went straight to penalties and John Peacock's England romped home 4-1 in the shoot-out.

England had been beaten 2-0 by the Dutch in a dead rubber in the group phase, with both teams having already qualified.

Wins over tournament hosts Malta and Turkey put England into the semi-finals where they beat Portugal 2-0.

Solanke put England in front when a Patrick Roberts corner was headed back across goal and Taylor Moore crossed for the Chelsea youngster to poke home.

England looked the better team, with the Dutch reduced to hopeful punts forward and it was against the run of play when they equalised right on the stroke of half-time.

Steven Bergwijn's clever pass was met by Schuurman on the volley, and he converted confidently.

Neither side seriously threatened a second goal in the second half, and a penalty shoot-out looked inevitable long before the final whistle.

When the shoot-out arrived, skipper Ryan Ledson, of Everton, put England in front.

Newcastle keeper Freddie Woodman then made a superb save to maintain the lead.

Taylor Moore, who plays for French club Lens - he is English by birth but raised in France - nervelessly made it 2-0.

Schuurman pulled one back with the Dutchmen's second penalty, only for Middlesbrough midfielder Callum Cooke to smash home England's third.

Calvin Verdonk then shot horribly wide, and that meant Kenny's successful kick - four out of four for England - made them champions.

England last won the European title in 2010 when Andre Wisdom and Connor Wickham scored the goals that gave them a 2-1 victory over Spain in the final.

That side contained the likes of Ross Barkley - who will go with the full England squad to this summer's World Cup in Brazil - West Brom striker Saido Berahino and Stoke keeper Jack Butland.