Argentina announce final squad

  • Last Updated: June 2 2014, 23:19 BST

Manchester City trio Pablo Zabaleta, Martin Demichelis and Sergio Aguero will join Lionel Messi and co in Argentina's 23-man World Cup squad.

Sergio Aguero: Charged with the task of firing Argentina to global glory
Sergio Aguero: Charged with the task of firing Argentina to global glory

Coach Alejandro Sabella has settled on his final selection, and his ranks are brimming with attacking talent.

Barcelona talisman Messi will lead the pursuit of global glory this summer, but he will be ably assisted by an enviable array of proven performers at the peak of their powers.

City striker Aguero falls into that category after helping to secure the Premier League title in 2013/14 - alongside fellow countrymen Zabaleta and Demichelis.

Another forward to shine in World Cup year was Napoli's Gonzalo Higuain, while Ezequiel Lavezzi tasted Ligue 1 success again at Paris St Germain.

Rodrigo Palacio has shown no signs of slowing down in Serie A at Inter Milan and Angel Di Maria enjoyed a standout campaign at Real Madrid as they landed a 10th European crown.

Sabella must find a way of bringing all of these pieces together, while also keeping things tight at the back, but he will welcome a few selection headaches ahead of a Group F campaign against Bosnia-Herzegovina, Nigeria and Iran.

Argentina's 23-man squad for the 2014 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Sampdoria), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors)

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Federico Fernandez (Napoli), Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City), Jose Basanta (Monterrey)

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid), Maxi Rodriguez (Newell's Old Boys), Enzo Perez (Benfica)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris St Germain)