Wilshere takes number seven

  • Last Updated: May 22 2014, 16:42 BST

Jack Wilshere looks to be firmly in Roy Hodgson's first-team plans after he was handed the number seven shirt for the World Cup.

Jack Wilshere: Will wear the number seven shirt in Brazil
Jack Wilshere: Will wear the number seven shirt in Brazil

The Football Association announced England's squad numbers for the tournament in Brazil on Thursday afternoon.

Wilshere has endured an injury-hit season for Arsenal, but he has been given the number seven shirt, which suggests the midfielder could be in line to start England's World Cup opener against Italy on June 14.

Frank Lampard also looks to be in the first-team reckoning as he has been given the number eight shirt.

Danny Welbeck will wear 11 despite his poor season at Manchester United.

Raheem Sterling and Adam Lallana have been widely tipped to sneak ahead of Welbeck into the first team, but they have been given 19 and 20 respectively. Lallana wears the same number for his club team Southampton.

Leighton Baines looks to be Hodgson's first-choice left-back. He will wear three in South America while his main rival Luke Shaw has been handed 23.

Captain Steven Gerrard will wear four while talismanic striker Wayne Rooney, as expected, has been given the No.10 shirt.

Daniel Sturridge has been rewarded for his fine season with Liverpool by being appointed England's number nine - following an illustrious list of strikers that includes the likes of Alan Shearer and Sir Bobby Charlton.

Hodgson confirmed Phil Jagielka (six) and Gary Cahill (five) as his first-choice centre-half pairing.

England's only out and out right-back, Glen Johnson, will wear two.

There were no surprises at the top of the list, where Joe Hart's name stood as England's number one.

England squad numbers:

1. Joe Hart 2. Glen Johnson 3. Leighton Baines 4. Steven Gerrard 5. Gary Cahill 6. Phil Jagielka 7. Jack Wilshere 8. Frank Lampard 9. Daniel Sturridge 10. Wayne Rooney 11. Daniel Welbeck 12. Chris Smalling 13. Ben Foster 14. Jordan Henderson 15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain 16. Phil Jones 17. James Milner 18. Rickie Lambert 19. Raheem Sterling 20. Adam Lallana 21. Ross Barkley 22. Fraser Forster 23. Luke Shaw