Leicester win Championship title

  • Last Updated: April 22 2014, 22:30 BST

A review of Tuesday night's action in the Sky Bet Championship as Leicester are confirmed as champions.

Leicester celebrate winning the title
Leicester celebrate winning the title

Leicester clinched the Sky Bet Championship title at the Reebok Stadium with Lloyd Dyer coming off the bench to net a fabulous winner in a 1-0 victory over Bolton.

The Foxes, who have maintained their position at the division's summit since before Christmas, were promoted earlier this month and, despite a heavy loss to Brighton, they immediately set their sights on securing silverware.

Second-placed Burnley's win on Easter Monday, which saw the Clarets grab the other automatic promotion spot, meant Nigel Pearson's men needed three points against Wanderers to wrap up the title.

After dominating large spells of the contest against a team with little to play for, Dyer arrived from the bench to rifle home a fine strike just after the hour and win the title for the Foxes.

In the night's other match, Reading halted their dismal home run and reignited their promotion bid with a 2-0 win over Middlesbrough.

The Royals had not won at the Madejski Stadium since January, while an Easter mauling at Wigan had seen them slip down to ninth.

But Adam Le Fondre's strike and an own goal by George Friend, all in the first quarter of an hour, lifted Nigel Adkins' side back into the sixth and final play-off spot with two games remaining.

With their destiny now in their own hands, Adkins knows wins over struggling Doncaster and promoted Burnley will keep their hopes of bouncing straight back to the Premier League alive.