FA to host Awards Day

  • Last Updated: November 12 2012, 22:48 GMT

The FA will host its first Awards Day at St George's Park on February 3 next year.

St George's Park: To host Awards Day in February

The annual player-of-the-year prize for the England senior side has been a prestigious fixture in the awards calendar since it was launched in 2003.

Now the FA, together with sponsors Vauxhall, has decided to widen the event to coincide with its 150th anniversary.

It means all 24 England teams will be recognised within 11 award categories, including one for the outstanding journalist covering England, in honour of the Daily Star's chief sports writer Brian Woolnough, who died in September.

The event will have a strong charitable association with the Bobby Moore Fund for Cancer Research, a fitting tribute given February marks the 20th anniversary of the death of England's World Cup-winning captain.

BMF Founder Stephanie Moore said: "I wish the FA well for their 150th anniversary and annual England Awards.

"As the national game, we should all come together to celebrate this landmark occasion.

"In my role with the Bobby Moore Fund, 2013 will also be a crucial year for our fundraising and awareness work in the fight against bowel cancer."

Next year is shaping up to be a big one for the FA.

As part of their 150th anniversary celebrations, Brazil, Republic of Ireland and Scotland have already been confirmed as friendly opponents.

In addition, Roy Hodgson's side will attempt to qualify for the World Cup in 2014, whilst Hope Powell's women's team and Stuart Pearce's Under-21 side will compete at their respective European Championships and the Under-20s will be in action at the World Cup in Turkey.

Award Categories:

Senior Men's Player of the Year (voted for by the public via TheFA.com)

Senior Women's Player of the Year (voted for the public via TheFA.com)

England Men's Under-21 Player of the Year (voted for by the public via TheFA.com)

England Women's Under-23 Player of the Year; England Men's Youth Player of the Year; England Women's Youth Player of the Year; Disability Player of the Year; Club England Team of the Year; England National Game Player of the Year.

FA Chairman David Bernstein will choose and present the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Brian Woolnough Tribute Award.

England player of the year award past winners:

2003 David Beckham; 2004 Frank Lampard; 2005 Frank Lampard; 2006 Owen Hargreaves; 2007 Steven Gerrard; 2008 Wayne Rooney; 2009 Wayne Rooney; 2010 Ashley Cole; 2011 Scott Parker.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week