Holland Finalise Euro 2012 Squad

  • Last Updated: June 1 2012, 8:23 BST

Bert van Marwijk has left Vurnon Anita, Siem de Jong, Adam Maher and Jeremain Lens out of his final 23-man Holland squad for Euro 2012.

Wilfred Bouma: Made the final cut

Van Marwijk had initially named a 36-man party for the tournament in Poland and Ukraine before trimming down his options to 27 last week.

He has now announced his final squad, with defenders Wilfred Bouma and Jetro Willems the surprise names on his retained list.

PSV Eindhoven's Bouma, 33, won his last cap for the Dutch during the previous Euro finals four years ago against Romania, while 18-year-old Willems still has to make his debut.

Willems came into the PSV team this season and replaced Van Marwijk's first choice left-back Erik Pieters, who is out for months with a broken foot.

The Dutch play Slovakia on Wednesday and Northern Ireland next Saturday in their final two friendlies before they travel to their base in the Polish city of Krakow.

The 2010 World Cup runners-up will start their Euro campaign on June 9th against Denmark in Ukraine's Kharkiv before facing Germany and Portugal in Group B.


Goalkeepers: Maarten Stekelenburg (Roma), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City).

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma, (PSV Eindhoven), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Malaga), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Jetro Willems (PSV Eindhoven).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Mark van Bommel (PSV Eindhoven), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (Sporting), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Kevin Strootman (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur).

Forwards: Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Luciano Narsingh (Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).