Pedersen: I'm No Cheat

  • By: Graeme Bailey
  • Last Updated: November 22 2011, 12:05 GMT

Morten Gamst Pedersen has defended his role in Blackburn's controversial goal at Wigan at the weekend.

Morten Gamst Pedersen: Thought Yaklubu touched the ball

Pedersen took a corner himself before crossing for Junior Hoilett to head home Rovers' second goal in the 3-3 draw.

Yakubu had put the ball down and looked to play the ball, but did not touch it with Pedersen then going to take the corner and playing it to himself before crossing.

And the Norwegian has hit back at claims that he 'cheated' by insisting he thought Yakubu had already played the ball.

"I thought Yakubu had touched the ball, so I took it with me into the field," said Pedersen.

"I was looking into the box when Yakubu pretended to kick the ball and I only saw him doing that in the corner of my eye. I thought that he had touched it.

"Now I know Yakubu never touched it, but since neither the referee or the assistant referee did anything I thought everything was fine until after the game.

"If I had seen that he was never near the ball I would have just sent it in like I always do."