Waites shocks Taylor at Grand Slam

  • Last Updated: November 13 2012, 23:22 GMT

Former champion Scott Waites beat Phil Taylor 5-2 to claim top spot in Group A at the Grand Slam of Darts on Tuesday evening.

Scott Waites: Former champion upset Taylor

  • Related Content

Waites, who won this event in 2010 a year after losing 16-2 in the final to Taylor, produced a clinical display to win the group on legs difference. Taylor also finished on four points and advances to the last 16.

Taylor produced one vintage moment, a 164 checkout on the bull to level at 1-1, but thereafter it was one-way traffic with Waites closing out the result on double 18 with an 87 checkout.

Mark Webster had earlier gone down 5-2 to the previously winless Co Stompe to ensure neither Waites nor Taylor were under much pressure when they took to the stage at Wolverhampton's Civic Hall.

Mervyn King eliminated James Wade with a 5-2 victory in the final match of Group D.

Arron Monk's 5-1 success over Jan Dekker in Tuesday's opener meant Wade could only afford to drop two legs against King or he was out.

Wade did not come close. King claimed the opening leg against the throw and sealed his opponent's fate with a 116 checkout in the fifth to lead 3-2.

King went on to earn a 5-2 win and top Group D with a 100 per cent record. Monk - who beat Wade 5-1 on Saturday night - advanced in second.

Dean Winstanley's 5-1 triumph over Simon Whitlock saw him go through as Group C winner, sending Whitlock home in the process. Kevin Painter was the other qualifier from the group thanks to a 5-3 success against James Hubbard.

Michael van Gerwen whitewashed Ted Hankey in the final act of the night to go through at the head of Group B along with second-placed Robert Thornton, who had edged out Steve Beaton 5-4 in a high-quality encounter. Van Gerwen's cause was aided by Hankey appearing to struggle with an eye problem.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week