Rutherford loses central contract

  • Last Updated: July 10 2014, 11:38 BST

Test openers Hamish Rutherford and Peter Fulton were among six players dropped when New Zealand released their contracts list on Thursday.

Rutherford: Loses his New Zealand contract
Rutherford: Loses his New Zealand contract

Rutherford, 25, played in last month's Test against West Indies but, after making a solid start to his five-day career which included scoring 171 on his debut against England last March, he has managed just one half-century since.

The left-hander averages 11.5 in Tests this year and has now been cut from New Zealand's list of 20 contracted players along with Fulton, who has also been struggling with his form of late.

The 35-year-old's last five Test matches have brought just 60 runs, with a highest score of 13, and he was dropped from the squad in the Caribbean after making one and nought in the series opener against West Indies.

Other players to miss out on contracts include paceman Doug Bracewell, batsman Dean Brownlie and veterans Bruce Martin and Grant Elliott.

However, spinners Mark Craig and Ish Sodhi have earned deals along with wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi, all-rounder Jimmy Neesham and fast-bowlers Matt Henry and Adam Milne.

New Zealand general manager of national selection Bruce Edgar said: "We've had a very strong summer followed by the Test series victory in the West Indies where a number of younger players put their hands up for consideration.

"Two of those integral to the series win in the West Indies were spinners Ish Sodhi and Mark Craig.

"While we accept that Mark and Ish are by no means the finished product, they are promising bowlers that we want to invest time in.

"Adam and Matt are two exciting young bowlers that if we manage well have got a big future in all forms of the game.

"Jimmy and Luke are both consistent members of our shorter-form teams and they've recently been selected in our Test squad as well."

Contract list: Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Mark Craig, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.