Recognition for England foursome

  • Last Updated: April 7 2014, 14:56 BST

England quartet Charlotte Edwards, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor have been selected by the ICC for the Women's World Twenty20 team of the tournament.

Anya Shrubsole: Named player of the tournament
Anya Shrubsole: Named player of the tournament

The England women have been chosen based on their performances across the six matches that England played during the tournament, which culminated in the six-wicket defeat to Australia in the final on Sunday.

Edwards has been handed the captaincy of the ICC nominated side and an opening batting spot thanks to her 200 runs during the tournament, while Taylor takes the wicket-keeper/batter position, having taken two catches and executed four stumpings, in addition to scoring 150 runs.

Right-arm seamer Shrubsole has been selected to lead the bowling attack after her 13 wickets over the past two weeks, including best figures of three for six against India and three for nine against Sri Lanka during the group stages of the competition.

She is joined as one of four specialist bowlers by Sciver, who was the tournament's second leading wicket-taker with 10 dismissals.

Speaking about her selection, Anya Shrubsole, who was also named as player of the tournament, said: "Since our very first match against the West Indies in Sylhet, I have thoroughly enjoyed playing and bowling in this tournament.

"It is always nice to receive recognitions such as this, but the main thing is that I have been able to contribute to a successful England team over the past two weeks.

"This tournament has been a wonderful demonstration of the increasing standard of women's cricket across the world. It is an exciting time to be playing the game, and I hope that we have helped to inspire young girls everywhere to pick up a bat and ball and get involved."

Team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand) - 228 runs, five wickets; Charlotte Edwards (England) - 200 runs; Meg Lanning (Australia) - 257 runs; Sarah Taylor (wicket-keeper) (England) - 150 runs, six dismissals; Stefanie Taylor (West Indies) - 153 runs, one wicket; Deandra Dottin (West Indies) - 147 runs, four wickets; Ellyse Perry (Australia) - 106 runs, eight wickets; Natalie Sciver (England) - 10 wickets; Salma Khatun (Bangladesh) - eight wickets; Poonam Yadav (India) - eight wickets; Anya Shrubsole (England) - 12 wickets

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30