KP not alone in CPL

  • Last Updated: April 1 2014, 16:44 BST

Kevin Pietersen will be joined by three other former England players in this week's Caribbean Premier League draft.

Owais Shah: In Thursday's CPL ballot
Owais Shah: In Thursday's CPL ballot

Simon Jones, Owais Shah and Dimitri Mascarenhas have nominated for Thursday's ballot, in which Pietersen is one of the most high-profile names on offer.

The six-franchise competition, which begins its second season in July, is the latest Twenty20 competition to draw star players - past and present - with the likes of Kumar Sangakkara, Shahid Afridi and Chris Gayle set to appear.

Former England and Glamorgan batsman Matthew Maynard will return to coach the St Lucia Zouks, and helped persuade 2005 Ashes-winner Jones to sign up for the lucrative tournament.

"I've got fond memories of playing in the Caribbean for England, and Matthew Maynard has told me very good things about last year's tournament," Jones said.

"I still feel I've got a lot to offer in the shortest form of the game and I'd love to sample the unique atmosphere of the CPL."

Following his England axing after the winter's Ashes whitewash, Pietersen has been freed to pick and choose where he plays around the world.

Pietersen is already signed up to play, and captain, the Delhi Daredevils when the Indian Premier League begins later this month, while he is set to appear for Surrey in the newly-badged Twenty20 Blast in England.

A clause in his Surrey contract allowed Pietersen to accept an approach to play in the CPL, with some reports that he would be ready to commute between the Caribbean and England for matches.

Pietersen has stated that he would be available for Surrey whenever required, writing on Twitter: "I will be fulfilling ALL my @surreycricket commitments and just flying into the Caribbean to honour this opportunity..."

With the IPL to begin in the United Arab Emirates, before returning to India after the country's elections, Pietersen is set for a hectic jet-set lifestyle as he follows the domestic Twenty20 circuits

"April - Dubai, May - India, June/July - London, Aug - Caribbean, Sept - London, Oct - Africa. Pretty chuffed with my summer!" he wrote on Twitter.

The Chris Gayle-led Jamaica Tallawahs, who will be coached by former Australia coach Mickey Arthur, won the inaugural CPL last year.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30