History of the World Twenty20

  • Last Updated: March 7 2014, 12:59 GMT

The fifth edition of the World Twenty20 will begin in Bangladesh later this month. There have been four different winners so far, and while the tournament is only seven years old, the shortest format has produced plenty of memorable moments.

West Indies celebrate their victory in the 2012 tournament

Here we take a quick look at the previous tournaments:

2007 - Hosts: South Africa. Final: India defeat Pakistan by five runs

Yuvraj Singh became the first batsman to hit six sixes in a Twenty20 international over when he took to Stuart Broad in a Super Eight match. Yuvraj's hitting was the highlight on a run to the final, where they beat arch-rivals Pakistan in a gripping contest in Johannesburg by just five runs.

2009 - Hosts: England. Final: Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets

Hosts England never recovered after a last-ball loss to Holland while Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan unveiled the 'Dil-scoop' as he was crowned Player of the Tournament on the back of a tournament-best 317 runs. Dilshan made a duck in the Lord's final, though, as Shahid Afridi's unbeaten 54 from 40 balls steered Pakistan home.

2010 - Hosts: West Indies. Final: England beat Australia by seven wickets

England claimed their first ever global ICC tournament title as man-of-the-tournament Kevin Pietersen helped steer them to victory over old rivals Australia in Barbados. Australia had only reached the final following some astonishing hitting from Michael Hussey in their semi-final against Pakistan. With 48 required from the last 17 balls, Hussey 's unbeaten 24-ball 60 got his side home with a ball in hand.

2012 - Hosts: Sri Lanka. Final: West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs

West Indies secured a popular win after they bowled out Sri Lanka for 101 in the final. Player-of-the-series Ajantha Mendis had taken four for 15 to restrict the Windies to 137 for six. Sunil Narine replied in kind with three for nine to prompt typically exuberant celebrations from the Calypso side, led by Chris Gayle.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30