Sehwag, Murali skipper MCC

  • Last Updated: February 20 2014, 14:57 GMT

Record-breaking India batsman Virender Sehwag will captain MCC in the annual Champion County match against Durham in Abu Dhabi.

Virender Sehwag: Excited to be named captain of MCC
Virender Sehwag: Excited to be named captain of MCC

Sehwag, who is the only Indian player to score a Test triple century, is joined in the MCC squad by England newcomer Harry Gurney, Lions opener Sam Robson and Test spinner Monty Panesar.

Sri Lanka wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardene is also included to face last season's title winners, who will once again begin the four-day season under lights with a pink ball.

Muttiah Muralitharan, the leading wicket-taker in Test history, will skipper the MCC group in the preceeding Emirates T20 tournament that also includes Durham, Lancashire, Sussex and a Fly Emirates XI.

MCC head of cricket John Stephenson said: "MCC is very pleased to be returning to Abu Dhabi for the Champion County and Emirates T20 matches this year. It is an excellent ground for competitive first-class cricket and, played in good weather, will be ideal preparation for the players ahead of the English season.

"MCC has had very positive results from these day-night Champion County matches, and has provided the game with invaluable insight into the possibilities of playing floodlit Test cricket. The evidence continues to mount and the Club believes this will soon translate into day-night Test cricket, which will help to re-invigorate the five day international game in countries where attendances are low."

Sehwag said: "I was delighted to be asked to play in this match, and being able to captain the MCC side makes it even more of a privilege. We're taking a very strong squad out to Abu Dhabi so I'm sure the standard of cricket on show will be very high.

"It's also very exciting to be playing under lights with the pink ball. It's a big innovation for the game and I'm very keen to be involved in any initiative which aims to increase the appeal of cricket to a wider audience."

MCC squad: Virender Sehwag (capt), Muttiah Muralitharan (T20 capt), Sam Robson, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Luis Reece, Samit Patel, Prasana Jayawardene, Ollie Rayner, Andre Adams, Harry Gurney, Kyle Hogg, Monty Panesar.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30