Johnson lands Border Medal

  • Last Updated: January 20 2014, 10:57 GMT

Mitchell Johnson has completed an incredible cricketing renaissance by winning the prestigious Allan Border Medal.

Mitchell Johnson all smiles as he holds the Allan Border Medal
Mitchell Johnson all smiles as he holds the Allan Border Medal

The prize is the biggest in Australian cricket and recognises the most outstanding player of the season, voted for by players, the media and umpires across all forms of the sport.

Johnson made up an incredible amount of ground on captain Michael Clarke during Australia's Ashes whitewash, finishing the season with 168 votes to deny Clarke (156) a third successive victory.

His comeback was all the more sensational given his omission from the Australia squad for the Ashes defeat on English soil last summer.

Clarke played in seven more Tests than Johnson but the left-armer, who took 37 wickets in the reverse Ashes victory, made eight more appearances in the limited-overs sphere.

"It has been an amazing journey coming back from injury, having a lot of doubters out there," Johnson said.

"But I just knew in my own heart that if I had that opportunity that I could make the most of it."

But there was one big prize for Clarke who took home the Test player of the year award for a record fourth time.

James Faulkner polled 121 votes to finish third in the Allan Border Medal race and he had near-misses in two other votes, finishing second to George Bailey in the one-day player of the year voting and second to Aaron Finch in the Twenty20 vote.

Victoria opener Meg Lanning won the Belinda Clark Medal for the premier female player of the year, Cameron White was named domestic player of the year and Tasmanian batsman Jordan Silk was presented with the Bradman young player of the year award.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30