Gayle, Bravo sign WICB deals

  • Last Updated: January 18 2014, 15:04 GMT

The West Indies Cricket Board have confirmed that Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle have accepted a central contract for 2014.

Chris Gayle: Has not agreed a contract since 2010
Chris Gayle: Has not agreed a contract since 2010

The star pair have refused to sign deals with the WICB since 2010, but they have accepted new year-long retainers following talks with new chief executive Michael Muirhead.

All-rounder Kieron Pollard, who also opted out of a contract in 2010, has again been omitted from the 15-player list, but spinner Sunil Narine and veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul have agreed retainers.

Gayle was replaced as captain by Darren Sammy after his refusal to accept a deal four years ago, but Muirhead is delighted that the explosive opener and Bravo have had a change of heart.

"I would like to believe it was a re-commitment to West Indies cricket from both of them," Muirhead said. "They were advised that they were being awarded contracts and they accepted.

"So it augurs well for West Indies cricket and we really did not have to go into negotiations or anything, so it means that they are re-committed to West Indies cricket.

"The fact they are presenting themselves, making themselves available at the expense of the other leagues speaks for itself so I am happy about that."

Meanwhile, Gayle, Bravo and Pollard have all been included in the West Indies provisional 30-man squad for the World Twenty20, which starts in March.

The defending champions have named only two uncapped players in the party, all-rounder Kevon Cooper and left-arm paceman Delorn Johnson.

The Windies squad is packed with all-rounders, with Bravo and Cooper being included alongside Andre Russell, Sammy, Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Smith.

They face a tough defence of their title after being drawn against Australia, Pakistan and India, who they face in their opening match on March 23.

Provisional West Indies squad:

Christopher Barnwell, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Kevon Cooper, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Delorn Johnson, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Chadwick Walton.

New Sky Bet customers: Free matched bet up to £30