Mathews new Sri Lanka skipper

  • Last Updated: February 14 2013, 18:25 GMT

Angelo Mathews has been confirmed as Sri Lanka's new Test and one-day international captain, with Dinesh Chandimal taking the Twenty20 reins.

Angelo Mathews: Named capatin
Angelo Mathews: Named capatin

Mathews, tipped as a future leader of the island nation for many years, succeeds Mahela Jayawardene, who announced his intention to stand down as skipper for a second time in December.

Chandimal, a wicketkeeper-batsman assuming increased seniority at international level, will have Lasith Malinga as his deputy in the shortest form.

The appointments were announced as Sri Lanka revealed an inflated 20-man party for next month's two-Test home series with Bangladesh.

Thilan Samaraweera, who today signed for Worcestershire, Tharanga Paranavitana and Prasanna Jayawardene have been axed, but Ajantha Mendis returns and there are call-ups for six players with no Test experience.

Gloveman Kushal Janith Perera and all-rounder Jeevan Mendis, who have both represented their country in ODIs, are included. The other new faces are batsmen Ashen Silva and Kithuruwan Vithanage, seamer Dushmantha Chameera and off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal.

Kumar Sangakkara's participation is dependent on his recovery from a fractured hand.

The first Test against Bangladesh at Galle begins on March 8, with Colombo hosting the second match the following week.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain & wicketkeeper), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ashen Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Mahela Jayawardene, Kushal Janith Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Ajantha Mendis, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shaminda Eranga, Chanaka Welegedera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week