Clarke equals medal record

  • Last Updated: February 4 2013, 12:34 GMT

Michael Clarke has matched Ricky Ponting's record of four Allan Border Medals as Australia's leading cricketer.

Michael Clarke: Won his fourth Allan Border medal
Michael Clarke: Won his fourth Allan Border medal

The 31-year-old Test and one-day international captain, who won the 2005, 2009 (with Ponting) and 2012 medals, was also named the Test player of the year at Melbourne's Crown Casino.

The skipper paid tribute to his team-mates and re-iterated his commitment to taking Australia to the top of the rankings in all formats before emotion cut short his acceptance speech.

"It's a great honour to be up here, but the most important thing for me is that our team continues to have success," he said.

"It's very special to always receive an individual award, but the most important award we can receive is to be the number one team in this country and in the world."

Clarke played all nine of Australia's Tests and completed 15 of 26 ODIs during the voting period from February 25 last year to January 28, 2013 for a return of 198 votes.

Magnificent double-centuries in back-to-back Tests against South Africa were his most memorable performances of the winter.

Shane Watson was equal second with the retired Mike Hussey.

Watson, also named Australia's T20 player of the year for the second year running, was just 33 votes behind Clarke despite missing 15 matches over the three formats during the voting period because of injury.

David Warner (148), the leading run-scorer for the past 12 months with 1,840, was fourth while Mitchell Starc (122) was the best of the bowlers in fifth place.

Victorian swing bowler McKay was the surprise ODI player of the year, picking up 30 votes to narrowly prevail ahead of joint runners-up George Bailey and Warner (28).

McKay collected most of his votes during last summer's Commonwealth Bank Series against India and Sri Lanka as well as the one-day leg of Australia's tour of the West Indies in March and the away series against England during June and July.

Others who received awards were Phillip Hughes (domestic player of the year) and Jessica Cameron (women's international player of the year), while Glenn McGrath and fellow fast bowler Charlie Turner (1887-1895) were inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Click here for completely free £10 bet with Sky Bet & £5 free every week